We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel, but hidden fees add up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, but hidden fees add up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were lucky to find hotel of this quality for this price. It is one of the nicest places I’ve ever stayed in. Lobby decor is very modern and elegant, with many artful touches. Front desk staff is very polite, prompt and accommodating. Rooms are sparkling clean, with new modern furniture, comfortable beds, and fluffy comforters and good pillows. Toiletries were of good quality.

Our room, however, did not have a refrigerator, but we did not ask for one.

Internet costs extra (one of hidden fees), but lobby has free wireless, and wired internet in the room was free - we hooked up our computer. Parking also costs extra (another hidden fee), which is ridiculous in this suburban area, with no shortage of on-street parking.

One extraordinary feature of this hotel is its breakfast. We had special promotion where breakfast was included, or it would have been pricey (another fee). Breakfast is one to remember, simply extraordinary. Food is amazing, very fresh and of good restaurant quality. One you get to your table, waiter brings you a shot of freshly made smoothie. Breakfast buffet options simply blew me away. Variety is mind-boggling, including fresh fruits and berries, hot cereals, omelet bar, potatoes, sausages, meats, smoked salmon, dairy products, pastries, sweets, cakes, pies and too many foods to even taste them all. You can have your omelet prepared to your order.

White Flint metro is just across the street form the hotel. White Flint mall is very close by with many restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perlusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    221
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
100
66
43
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is very good at what it does, host conferences and meetings. I was in town only for a night to attend a conference over parts of two days and I thought the facilities were better than most of the previous hotels that I had been to for similar reasons. The meeting areas are well lit, they have good space too for breaks (which was crucial as there were hundreds of people at this conference, yet it never felt cramped). The food was good, not the best I've had, but still pretty good. They have a variety of different meeting rooms, some are more like college lecture halls with long crescent shaped desk like tables (each with its own Ethernet cable plug-n and electrical outlet, plus lamp), others are simple with a stage and chairs laid out. Overall it was a very pleasant conference experience.

As for the rooms - they were what you'd expect from a Marriott, nice, clean, comfortable. I was only there for a night so I never experienced the maid service. The front desk was very helpful, however, and they helped me track down a package that got misplaced after I had it sent there. So I was grateful for that. The internet cost a few bucks, so I didn't bother, but you have the option. I didn't get a chance to see the pool or fitness center.

The location of the hotel is fine - not wonderful. The hotel bills itself as being in Bethesda, though it's probably right on the Bethesda-Rockville line (I think it is in Rockville). Downtown Bethesda is a couple of miles (or metro stops) away. I also probably wouldn't stay here if the purpose of my trip was to visit Washington, DC; there are good options closer in to the city. The hotel is less than a block from a Red Line Metro Stop (which will also take you to downtown Bethesda), however, so that is certainly an option.

Overall I enjoyed the hotel, and if I ever find myself in Bethesda/Rockville again I would likely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THEBafanaBafana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The food is substandard, the sound system in the meeting rooms is poor and the neigborhood is an suburban wasteland

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Flew into Baltimore Airport and took a bus to the metro and then rode that to the hotel. Wouldn't recommend that route, however it was a very pretty bus ride. The hotel was very nice and accomodating. We arrived late at night and they didn't have a room with a king bed, but quickly upgraded us the next morning. We also weren't prepared for the rain and they gave us a complimentary umbrella. Rooms were clean, big, and comfortable. It is located near the white flint metro stop. The metro was very easy to navigate and we took it everywhere! The only negative was that the ride into DC took a little longer than expected. . .about 30 min each day. We loved DC and would recommend staying near dupont circle if at all possible. . .it was a fun little spot with lots of people watching.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brie_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center is a nice and comfy place to stay. The conference center was excellent with nice flair. The food was excellent. We ate two breakfasts, one lunch and one dinner and they all were yummy and moderately priced. This hotel is centrally located near a Metro station and many mid-range restaurants and some fast food. They do not have a spa on premises.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I am in Bethesda for work every week and spend 1-2 nights a week here. I have stayed at this property many times - and have stayed at the South property off of Pooks Hill Rd many times as well. The North property is a MUCH newer property. Rooms are always clean and fresh. Front desk staff are knowledgeable and friendly. I am a Platinum member with Marriott so I do get Concierge Lounge access at available properties. The lounge at this property is very nice. Comfortable, excellent for relaxing and business meetings alike, and the food is always good. In the afternoons (when the Lounge is not staffed), they always put out a selection of nuts and candies which is a nice touch. Room service is always nice. Good selection of comfort food as well as many healthy options for those inclined.

The location is pretty good here. You can hop on the Red Line which is about 30 seconds away from the front door of the property (20-30 minute ride into DC). Lots of restaurants close by but most are chains. But you can walk up and down Rockville Pike and find something good to eat without a problem.

This is a nice property. I would recommend staying here for business as it is perfect place to get some work done. If you are here for leisure, it is a great property for that as well as the Metro station is so close. The only downside is the typical price per night of the property. Most hotels in this category in Bethesda are expensive and I'm not quite sure why they have to be so pricey. If you have business at NIH, Walter Reed / Bethesda, etc it is a great location. If I were to come to the area for leisure, I would likely stay closer to D.C. for the same price or less. That being said, I do like the property and will continue to stay here as it very convenient, clean, and helps me be productive while in the area.

Room Tip: Concierge lounge is very nice. If you have afford the upgrade, it is worth it (10th Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagbosRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bostonn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I give this hotel a 5 star rating, but by no means that means that this is the ultimate luxury hotel. No, this hotel is a 4 star hotel ( compared to the most luxury hotels out there), but in that echelon of hotels, this hotel is a 5 star hotel...

he bathroom was nice, and the
Room:

I had a king size room with a fridge on the concierge level. The room was awesome, and as usual, the bed was AMAZING !! The bathroom is nice, and i like their Bath & Body Works collection in the bathroom ( shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, lotion etc).


Fitness center:
The dumbells go up to 50 lbs, they have 5 treadmills, 4 ellipticals i believe, and 2 stationary bikes. They also some leg/lat,cable machines. Overall, you could get a decent workout in their.

The hotel also had a pool which i didnt use


Amenities:
Being a Gold Member, i recieved access to the Concierge Lounge, which served high quality breakfast/dessert/ snacks.


The internet connection was also pretty fast and stable

There are also many places to eat within a 10 min walking distance

Overall i was very happy with the hotel, and deffinately recommend it

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltShaker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access, tantalizing on-site dining, a heated indoor pool and 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing