We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK Stay at this hotel, watch out for the scalding water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
196 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“OK Stay at this hotel, watch out for the scalding water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and seating area. The staff was attentive and professional. Check in took about 15 minutes. When we entered the hotel room it had a very musty and mildewy smell as soon as we opened the door, the smell never went away. The smell is strongest near the door. The furniture is very uncomfortable and in need of an update, it is really worn. The room was small, but the bathroom was good size. The room was fairly quiet during our stay. Our room had NO microwave or fridge. Our room faced the street, in the new part of the hotel, it was interesting to people watch from our window. One important thing I must mention is the HOT water, it is HOT. We did not get burned, but I think it would be easy to get scalded. Please watch children in the bathroom while using the hot water. The most important thing that makes the hotel so appealing is the location to the Metro. It is only steps to the Metro, so that is a plus for this hotel. There is a restaurant in the hotel, the food was pretty good. There is also a McDonalds on one corner and an Arbys on the other corner. The Papa Johns Pizza is in the strip mall between the Arbys and the McDonalds, if you want something else you can drive a short distance. We will stay here next time we are in DC area, only because of the convience of the Metro.

Room Tip: Ask for the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    214
    58
    19
    19
See reviews for
97
64
43
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

If you need to be at meetings at any one of the many government agencies along the red line in Washington's northwest suburbs, this is a lovely hotel. There isn't much to do in walking distance, though there are some chain restaurants. The hotel is only a stone's throw from the White Flint stop, though, so it is an easy ride downtown. There are some nice places to run in the neighborhood including the nearby Bethesda Trolley Trail.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newprospect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here 5 nights for a business conference.

My room was clean and well maintained. The bed and pillows were comfortable. All the amenities I needed were in the room.

I used their fitness facilities every day. There was a large selection and even when all fitness machines were in use there was still enough room for people to do free weights/cardio. The life guard made sure all cardio machines were clean and had towels after each use (when there were not people using the pool).

Everyone I interacted with (Front Desk, Concierge, Housekeeping) were all friendly and helpful.

The room keys are very sensitive to magnets so be careful! I had to get mine re-keyed more than once.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We recd a letter welcoming us and acknowledging our platinum status which increased our expectations for a great stay. We could not have been more disappointed. It w/have been better had they not bothered to email us. The room was small, old and dirty. The service was ok at best-barely responsive as if just there to have a human presence and no more. Food was terrible and weak. Can't say more how bad it was.....if only for convenience there is no other reason to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BotRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Spent one night here for a 2-day conference. Overall, a decent business hotel. I had a room with 2 double beds, a large closet with iron and ironing board and mirrored door; there is a safe in the dresser. Bathroom is small, sink, toilet and bathtub with curved-bar shower curtain all behind the same door which would make it hard for multiple family members to get ready simultaneously. Room also includes smoke detector and sprinkler, Room includes an ice bucket, refrigerator with small icebox, flatscreen TV but no microwave oven. For business, the room includes a Timex alarm clock, a single cup coffee pot, a desk with wired internet and a phone, desk chair, easy chair with lamp. Wireless internet is available in some rooms in the hotel, but coverage is spotty. Hotel includes a full service restaurant with a breakfast buffet, as well as a nice bar including tap beer. Parking is controlled with a gate as there is a subway entrance across the parking lot, but parking fee was included with either the room or the conference. There is a McDonald’s across the street and a variety of other restaurants a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McHenryDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

As soon as I stepped off the Metro, I saw the hotel in front of me. That was an immediate big plus after flying all day and walking quite a distance downtown. My room was large, with two beds. Beds, bathroom, and room in general were all very clean. The lobby was inviting, and often there was a jug of iced lemon water sitting out for guests. The exercise room was very nice and complete, and offered bottles of water and fruit. I found the front desk employees to be very friendly and efficient, and appreciated the computer in the lobby for printing my boarding pass.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on the highest floor possible that had a fridge, and was given a room on the 10th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel was an example of Marriott at its best. Comfy bed, stylish and clean furnishings, elegant common areas, great pool, excellent service, convenient to the metro. What more could you want? I got the breakfast package and they allowed me to order room service instead. It was served on time and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineBilleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5701 Marinelli Rd, Rockville, MD 20852-2785
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access, tantalizing on-site dining, a heated indoor pool and 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing