We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dim Sum in Rockville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far East Restaurant

Far East Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 388 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Best Dim Sum in Rockville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

By far, it is the best dim sum in the area. Portion are big, very tasty and price are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chenfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get the shrimp dumplings - you won't regret it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went here three times within a month - that should say how much I like it. The dim sum is excellent. You can get it on weekdays too but it just doesn't come around on a cart (you order it off a menu). The restaurant is clean and spacious on the inside and is on more than one floor - although I have only recently sat on the bottom floor. The fried taro is awesome, as are the shrimp dumplings and radish cake! I brought some friends and they all went back separately with their families within the same week. That's how good it is!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank penguin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have tried many different Chinese Restaurants, in Gaithersburg, Germantown, and some in Rockville. Having said that, I found that the food at Far East Restaurant, is superior to most places that I have tried. Fantastic server, prompt service, and great atmosphere, will keep us coming back to this restaurant.. If you haven't tried it, then you should try it for sure.. You won't be sorry that you stopped there, and mos likely will become a regular customer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, MD
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bland dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Three of us shared dishes for lunch today. While I normally don't add salt, I had to add salt to my broccoli. The orange chicken wasn't spicy at all and the chicken and cashews was just mediocre.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HRKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in DC Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The best Dim Sum in the DC metro area! It's tasty and offers good value. MUCH Better than Oriental East and Silver Fountain in DC. The chef and owner used to operate another restaurant in Columbia MD that served fantastic dim sum and we would trek from Rockville just to have dim sum in Columbia. So happy that the owner and dim sum chef and the helpers are serving dim sum at the Far East now (weekends and holidays only). While the Far East has been an established entity, it only started serving dim sum a few months ago. I just came back from Hong Kong and this place can match those in Hong Kong. Only complaint is the host does not use a priority system when there is a wait. He just made guests stand by the doorway and queue in line. Very confusing and unpleasant when it's crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihelpveterans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far East Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Far East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing