We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ambiance in Every dining room”

Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge
Reserve a Table
2
Today
8:00 PM
Ranked #2 of 489 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wootten Parkway
Transit: Bus 81, Monday - Friday until 7:30pm
Description: Tucked away in a 22-acre nature preserve just fifteen minutes from Georgetown, Tower Oaks Lodge has the look and feel of an authentic Adirondack lodge. Divided into four dining rooms, the Lodge contains a vast collection of art and artifacts such as vintage canoes and row boats, and antique saddles and trophies. Chef Jeffery Eng, formerly of 1789 Restaurant, presides over the kitchen team featuring a menu of great American saloon-style food. The Lodge offers the freshest seafood, locally-grown seasonal vegetables, pastas, and salads, as well as Clyde's classics such as cheeseburgers and chili.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

I am really torn between three stars and four stars. We used to go to Clyde's Tower Oaks a lot, food is not as good as it used to be and neither is the service. We go because we love the atmosphere. I wish they had outdoor seating to take advantage of the pretty woods setting.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 982 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019

We eat at Clyde's Tower Oak Lodge at least once a month, and it is our favorite Montgomery County restaurant. why? Because of the consistently high quality food, the wonderful ambiance and the always excellent service. Try Cliff in the Great Room and you will be with one of the best servers in the world!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank athiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

Our waiter, Josh, made some recommendations - each dish he suggested was great. The day's soup and special (the cold cucumber soup with salmon and a magnificentally cooked scallop dish with mushrooms - including crispy mushrooms!) was really good. Not having slept well the night before and nearly falling asleep at the table with out-of-town guests, I was happy to find a mock-mojito on the drinks menu. It was incredible!

My only complaints are the noise and the decor. These tie in together so let me start with the decor. When you enter it's woodsy but magical. The walk to the dining room is through a tunnel of arched branches wrapped in fairy-lights. It gives a romantic-woods feel to the place. Unforunately it opens into a large room (beautiful high ceilings covered in wood with exposed beams) that is decorated with taxidermied animal heads. I've skinned deer and rabbits and am a carnivore; I am not freaked out by this but it feels like the building is a battle between two designers with very different visions. The result of the decorating choices is that there is very little fabric or softness in the very large, open room with lots of tables, diners, and wait staff. The noise mixes and echos around making the room quite loud.

I would not hesitate to come back with a group (of carivores) who were loud or partying but would not choose it again for a romantic dinner or a smaller group that wanted to have gentle conversation.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

We have been going to Tower Oaks since 2 weeks after they opened. I guess it is because there is a fair amount of turnover and it is a big restaurant - but after 17 years, and every anniversary, birthday, major milestone of our family and casually eating there several times per month - there are only a few times anyone there acts like they have seen us before. For a neighborhood restaurant, it isn't always neighborhood-y for lack of a better way to put it. Phillip (usual in the front bar area) is awesome and is a great server with the added bonus of a good sense of humor.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank maggiemaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

We come here often to sit at the bar, with Jeff (great guy/bartender), for the 1/2 price raw bar special. We typically get a dozen oysters each, a dozen double dipped wings and something else off the bar specials. The hours are 4:00-7:00 & after 10:00.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Olney, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing