We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“ALWAYS A FUN PLACE TO VISIT WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge

Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 386 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wootten Parkway
Transit: Bus 81, Monday - Friday until 7:30pm
Description: Tucked away in a 22-acre nature preserve just fifteen minutes from Georgetown, Tower Oaks Lodge has the look and feel of an authentic Adirondack lodge. Divided into four dining rooms, the Lodge contains a vast collection of art and artifacts such as vintage canoes and row boats, and antique saddles and trophies. Chef Jeffery Eng, formerly of 1789 Restaurant, presides over the kitchen team featuring a menu of great American saloon-style food. The Lodge offers the freshest seafood, locally-grown seasonal vegetables, pastas, and salads, as well as Clyde's classics such as cheeseburgers and chili.
Rockville
2 reviews
“ALWAYS A FUN PLACE TO VISIT WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food is good and servings are generous. I love the eclectic decorations - always feels like being away on a vacation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elinor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    259
    74
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ambiance , ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The restaurant is beautiful ! Lovely lighting, cool bridge and stream out front! The food is just ok, but the atmosphere is beautiful !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank met075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flying Lobsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

For her birthday, I took my wife and her sisters family visiting from Brasil out to Clyde's for dinner. There were 8 of us and we all ordered the lobster special. We were having a great time enjoying the cool ambiance over good conversation when over came the waiter with a tray full of lobsters. I watched in horror as the guy tripped and the lobsters went flying! After the dust settled, I asked "were those our lobsters?". He said yes. We had to wait another 30 or 40 minutes but it was fine. I wrote about the experience to the general manager and he offered to have us back another time. I came a few weeks later and brought my best friend and his family visiting from Arizona. We had a wonderful meal and Clyde's pick up the tab. I like the place and enjoy the atmosphere. The food is good but the overall experience is better. Flying lobsters aside, I recommend Clyde's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dependable and pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Consistent, good service and pleasant environment. Food good but not great. I would recommend for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dantecamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
716 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,253 helpful votes
“Getter better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've been here 3x since my last review. The restaurant has definitely improved in both service and food. More choices of their freshest eastern US oysters. Service has improved exponentially- the waiters appear naturally happy and eager to serve you. On one instance, I mentioned about the sweetness of my calamari and wondered if there was a new chef in the house. They gladly made another sans sugar- gratis. Our drinks were well mixed. Wide tap beers selection. Hunting lodge interiors still reign among its class in the Washington metro.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing