We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable and pleasant.”

Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 408 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wootten Parkway
Transit: Bus 81, Monday - Friday until 7:30pm
Description: Tucked away in a 22-acre nature preserve just fifteen minutes from Georgetown, Tower Oaks Lodge has the look and feel of an authentic Adirondack lodge. Divided into four dining rooms, the Lodge contains a vast collection of art and artifacts such as vintage canoes and row boats, and antique saddles and trophies. Chef Jeffery Eng, formerly of 1789 Restaurant, presides over the kitchen team featuring a menu of great American saloon-style food. The Lodge offers the freshest seafood, locally-grown seasonal vegetables, pastas, and salads, as well as Clyde's classics such as cheeseburgers and chili.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dependable and pleasant.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Consistent, good service and pleasant environment. Food good but not great. I would recommend for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dantecamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    307
    87
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,308 helpful votes
“Getter better.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've been here 3x since my last review. The restaurant has definitely improved in both service and food. More choices of their freshest eastern US oysters. Service has improved exponentially- the waiters appear naturally happy and eager to serve you. On one instance, I mentioned about the sweetness of my calamari and wondered if there was a new chef in the house. They gladly made another sans sugar- gratis. Our drinks were well mixed. Wide tap beers selection. Hunting lodge interiors still reign among its class in the Washington metro.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my wife's family while visiting her sister. We were seated immediately and our server was very attentive. Guinness was on special that evening so my brother in law opted for a pint of the black stuff. When it arrived we immediately noticed that it wasn't a proper pour but indulged anyways. The menu was extensive and it was difficult to decide, we started with the cream of crab soup which was amazing, crack tots, clams and some sort of wonton that was great too. My entree was a tad greasy for me, and portions were rather small for the price. All in all though we had a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Dallas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
235 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Near Perfect Christmas Experience”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This time we sat in the "Great Room", which actually is a 200 year old barn moved from Vermont, but decorated in a way that reminds me of the many great lodges that still dot the Adirondacks. The service was a bit slow, but OK because we were in no hurry to leave. As expected, the raw oysters and jumbo shrimp were excellent. The entrees were all good, including their excellent crab cakes, their signature trout parmesan and the beef bourguignon. The desserts were also good, although I can't recommend the chai spice creme brulee, as the tea flavor seemed odd in a brulee. Perhaps the hit of the evening was the carollers from Sidwell Friends School, who went from table to table to sing your favorite. Nice touch. The prices are reasonable, although a bit higher here than most Clyde's restaurants. But then the experience is excellent and worth the premium.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bloodman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Among the best of all of the Clyde's owned group”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have been going to Clyde's in one form or another since 1969 with the original Clyde's in Georgetown. As the restaurant group continued to expand into Tysons Corner VA, Columbia MD, Friendship Heights and downtown Washington D.C. it has never waiver in it's comfortable ambiance, wonderful service, and good food.

The Tower Oaks location has simply continued this tradition. The decor is truly unique with some native American artifacts and early American pieces.

The variety of rooms accomadates both large and small groups and the service is great, as it is in all of the Clyde's locations.

If you looking for a comfortable place for lunch or dinner with a large party or small this is an excellent choice.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHKozar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Potomac, Montgomery County
 

Been to Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing