We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Setting, Need to go Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge

Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 388 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wootten Parkway
Transit: Bus 81, Monday - Friday until 7:30pm
Description: Tucked away in a 22-acre nature preserve just fifteen minutes from Georgetown, Tower Oaks Lodge has the look and feel of an authentic Adirondack lodge. Divided into four dining rooms, the Lodge contains a vast collection of art and artifacts such as vintage canoes and row boats, and antique saddles and trophies. Chef Jeffery Eng, formerly of 1789 Restaurant, presides over the kitchen team featuring a menu of great American saloon-style food. The Lodge offers the freshest seafood, locally-grown seasonal vegetables, pastas, and salads, as well as Clyde's classics such as cheeseburgers and chili.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Setting, Need to go Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It has been a year since my brother and sister-in-law took us here so the details are a little foogy, but pleasant. I just noticed that a friend checked in from there yesterday!

We will be visiting the family in Maryland in two weeks and hope to make a return visit and refresh my memory!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    250
    72
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've been there about ten times and it is a very good place to take guests. The food can be very good but usually is quite average. Once my wife ordered steak and it was really tough. They did take it off the tab and sent us a $30 voucher. Service has always been very good. What we have come to really like about the place is the atmosphere and that can be worth the visit itself. I only wish they would improve on the overall quality of the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise lunch on our way Dulles and home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our son took us here for lunch before our trip home to the "other Washington." This is a beautiful restaurant with an Adirondacks lodge vibe. Warning: if you have problems with stuffed critters watching you eat, you might want to ask for the horse themed room. As former Alaskans we found the decor delightful. And then there was the food and service--both exceptional. My husband had the special and said it was the best halibut he had ever had, I opted for the soup of the day and the Asparagus Salad. Wonderful! This was a perfect send-off to our visit in the nations capital.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Head-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Tower Oaks again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really enjoy Tower Oaks and just realized that I have not ever written a review! Our meal there last evening was delicious, as usual. I had the lump crab cakes, which are some of the finest in the area. (My only complaint there is that they are definitely NOT "jumbo" as labeled on the menu - have to go to Timbuktu for really good jumbo crab cakes.) The arugula accompaniment was just OK - but one can substitute side dishes. The Alaska halibut was also very good, and the mango sorbet was delicious - service was good, as usual. This is not a place to go for a quiet dinner, however, as the noise level was (and often is) high. While pricey, I return again and again for the crab cakes and the pleasant setting both outdoors (Canadian woods and stream) and inside (tack room or woodsy decor).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap Brunch Drinks, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went for brunch last week to Cylde's Tower Oaks Lodge and found we couldn't make reservations through Open Table. The explanation is that it is not listed with the other Clyde's restaurants. It's listed under Tower Oaks. This should be corrected. For the pluses, the brunch menu offers something for everyone and the highlight was $4.00 Bloody Mary's and Mimosas. And they were large!! I had the quiche with an accompanying salad which was fine. My husband had Nutella stuffed French toast which he enjoyed. We'll be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing