We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 489 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by for take-out out and selected an eclectic selection to take to the Hebrew Home for a 4 generation lunch. We had everything from nigiri sushi to bento lunches. Everyone enjoyed it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank evac93rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2018

I've been coming here for years with family and friends and we have never failed to have a most enjoyable, tasty meal. Personally I love the tempura shrimp and veggies, the katsudon and the sushi. And the Japanese beer -- especially Sapporo -- is great. The service is always attentive and pleasant. And the value is terrific.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rockvilleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

We haven't been here in 2 years. Each entrée comes with a soup or salad. The soup is very small and OK. The salad is very small about 1/3 of a normal salad. The sashimi is very good but skimpy portions. It appears that the prices are the same but the potions are smaller. The Grilled salmon & Udon combo was good. The beef terriyaki was good but also skimpy. The seafood udon had shrimp, scallops & calamari not bad. We may not return due to what you get for the price.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunfun4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

We have been to Niwano Hana 3 times now and each time it's even better. They offer a wide variety of sushi combinations and also very excellent cooked food. They have a few beers and sakes but mostly it's about the food. Very friendly and competent service, too. We particularly enjoyed the grilled squid and the rainbow roll. The black and red roll is also excellent and I have not seen that at other sushi places. The negimayaki was a great appetizer. If you are near the Wintergreen Plaza on Rockville Pike, this is an excellent choice for dinner.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Excellent Japanese food in a clean and friendly environment. The quality of the ingredients is high and the taste is delicious and authentic. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paolo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing