We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best!”

Giuseppi's Pizza Plus
Ranked #81 of 410 Restaurants in Rockville
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you live or work in the Rockville area or plan to visit, Giuseppi's is probably the best in the area. Otherwise, typical pizza place with salads, sandwiches, etc. We typically get our pizzas to go and eat them at home after work. For those working around the courthouse, lucky you because you can have their pizza regularly!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Out of Oven”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Don't expect a great dine-in experience, but the pizza is very good...especially right out of the oven. The thin crust is baked just right and the pizza has a ample toppings. Being from out of state, and as it was our first visit, my wife and I were surprised by the size of the pizza. The two of us got two meals from a small 12-inch 'Giuseppes Special' making it a good value for the area. As someone who likes pizza leftovers, I was a bit disappointed that it wasn't as good the second day; probably because the crust was no longer crisp and the cheese became chewy instead of stringy as when freshly baked. While it's not a pizza I'd drive a great distance out of the way to get, residents of Rockville should certainly be happy they have the restaurent in their community. If the restaurant itself was better maintained and the staff a bit more personable I would have rated them a notch higher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 785genel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Subrban Maryland/DC area”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Think Pittsburgh pizza, slightly different from NY, (crust a little thicker) and this is the best. Very cheesy, great flavored sauce, lots of toppings (below the cheese so the flavors blend in). Get the pizza well done to make sure the dough gets cooked all the ways through. And great chicken parm subs and cheesesteaks. Owners are local -- Sue and Scott -- and have been there for more than 20 years. Great people. Loyal to locals -- even non-Steeler fans.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Salt-of-the-earth pizza”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You won't find fancy tables or cloth tablecloths. This is your old-fashioned pizzeria with outstanding pizza. We drive out of our way every week to get it. You might even be lucky enough to catch a glimpse of them tossing dough. Flavorful crust, ample toppings and a reasonable price make this an every man's gourmet pizza. Fair price, good people, definitely family-friendly. If you're planning to go to a movie, you can get discount tickets for the movie theater a few steps away (Regal Rockville) as long as you spend the minimum. We prefer the Greek salad to the antipasto. Understandably, the place is often packed. If you don't like noise, you can do takeout and not miss out on anything. We've been going for years and they don't disappoint.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honest-to-gosh authentic style pizza”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Giuseppes Pizza in an institution in Rockville. Traditional style thin pizza (they probably make thick as well...just don't ask me about it) that even my Bronx-native wife thinks is truly authentic NY style pizza. Giuseppes is not secret; its a hopping place all the time. Their tables are set up to accommodate everything from yet another kid's sports teams piling in all day Saturday or when the evening games wrap up, to a couple headed to the movies next door (with their "dinner & a movie" deal a $5 or more receipt gets you $6.50 movie tickets). Think simple classic local pizza joint: bright, noisy and fun.

I'm not sure how the mother & son owners Sue and Scott learned how to make such great pies; they are Pittsburgh pizza people (Squirrel Hill neighborhood). I grew up in Pittsburgh too, and it's NOT generally known as the pizza heaven of the world. Of course a great family joint can exist anywhere. They are proud of their family heritage...Steelers black and gold is the decorating theme of the place. They are used to Redskins and Ravens fans "discussing" their imported team preference, but they sure don't back down, and will have you laughing about it all.

Its not just pizza either...calzones, both hot and cold subs, and salads are available, as is beer on tap (by the glass or pitcher). I haven't worked up the courage to try their cheesesteak sandwich yet; can folks from Pittsburgh, now working in Rockville, really make a decent Philly cheesesteak???

They used to be on N. Washington Street before Town Center was built; now they are right by the Movies in the heart of the new town center. That makes parking tough, which is too bad because take-out is a big part of their business. Their delivery is good though. You can double park (LEAVE THE DRIVER IN THE CAR !!!) behind the store in the entrance drive to the County office building, and go right inside through the back door (look for the steady stream of people carrying pizza boxes out the door). Metro (Red Line) is a good option too; they are only 1 block from the walkway over "the Pike" from the Rockville Station.

Now they have a second location in Kentlands (335 Kentlands Rd in Gaithersburg...near the movies there)...same great pies, not quite as friendly and homey atmosphere (yet).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppi's Pizza Plus also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Giuseppi's Pizza Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing