We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Subrban Maryland/DC area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giuseppi's Pizza Plus

Giuseppi's Pizza Plus
Ranked #68 of 388 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Subrban Maryland/DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Think Pittsburgh pizza, slightly different from NY, (crust a little thicker) and this is the best. Very cheesy, great flavored sauce, lots of toppings (below the cheese so the flavors blend in). Get the pizza well done to make sure the dough gets cooked all the ways through. And great chicken parm subs and cheesesteaks. Owners are local -- Sue and Scott -- and have been there for more than 20 years. Great people. Loyal to locals -- even non-Steeler fans.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Salt-of-the-earth pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You won't find fancy tables or cloth tablecloths. This is your old-fashioned pizzeria with outstanding pizza. We drive out of our way every week to get it. You might even be lucky enough to catch a glimpse of them tossing dough. Flavorful crust, ample toppings and a reasonable price make this an every man's gourmet pizza. Fair price, good people, definitely family-friendly. If you're planning to go to a movie, you can get discount tickets for the movie theater a few steps away (Regal Rockville) as long as you spend the minimum. We prefer the Greek salad to the antipasto. Understandably, the place is often packed. If you don't like noise, you can do takeout and not miss out on anything. We've been going for years and they don't disappoint.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honest-to-gosh authentic style pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Giuseppes Pizza in an institution in Rockville. Traditional style thin pizza (they probably make thick as well...just don't ask me about it) that even my Bronx-native wife thinks is truly authentic NY style pizza. Giuseppes is not secret; its a hopping place all the time. Their tables are set up to accommodate everything from yet another kid's sports teams piling in all day Saturday or when the evening games wrap up, to a couple headed to the movies next door (with their "dinner & a movie" deal a $5 or more receipt gets you $6.50 movie tickets). Think simple classic local pizza joint: bright, noisy and fun.

I'm not sure how the mother & son owners Sue and Scott learned how to make such great pies; they are Pittsburgh pizza people (Squirrel Hill neighborhood). I grew up in Pittsburgh too, and it's NOT generally known as the pizza heaven of the world. Of course a great family joint can exist anywhere. They are proud of their family heritage...Steelers black and gold is the decorating theme of the place. They are used to Redskins and Ravens fans "discussing" their imported team preference, but they sure don't back down, and will have you laughing about it all.

Its not just pizza either...calzones, both hot and cold subs, and salads are available, as is beer on tap (by the glass or pitcher). I haven't worked up the courage to try their cheesesteak sandwich yet; can folks from Pittsburgh, now working in Rockville, really make a decent Philly cheesesteak???

They used to be on N. Washington Street before Town Center was built; now they are right by the Movies in the heart of the new town center. That makes parking tough, which is too bad because take-out is a big part of their business. Their delivery is good though. You can double park (LEAVE THE DRIVER IN THE CAR !!!) behind the store in the entrance drive to the County office building, and go right inside through the back door (look for the steady stream of people carrying pizza boxes out the door). Metro (Red Line) is a good option too; they are only 1 block from the walkway over "the Pike" from the Rockville Station.

Now they have a second location in Kentlands (335 Kentlands Rd in Gaithersburg...near the movies there)...same great pies, not quite as friendly and homey atmosphere (yet).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pizza plus - always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You've got to love the hustle and bustle. This is a place where friends gather - including many local runners. It's not quiet, we often take the food for takeout. Family business, supports the community and delivers consistent quality food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Delivery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great Pizza. The way they do the onions, chopped & grilled (yellow onions) before placing on the pizza, was a nice touch. I prefer yellow onions over red onions for pizza. I don't like 'sweet' onions on my pizza. In my opinion, regular yellow onions are the way to go, every time for pizza! I also enjoyed the Philly cheese steaks from Giuseppi's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IRockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppi's Pizza Plus also viewed

 

Been to Giuseppi's Pizza Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing