We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
Ranked #179 of 407 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have tasted better Thai foods. The food is average. Unfortunately, my order took so long to come that I did not feel like coming back again! sorry

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank raquelcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eh.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just so so. Went to the location in The Rio (Washingtonian Center) and was not impressed with the food.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning atmosphere, sub-average food.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Beautiful.
Everything was beautiful -- from the decor to the food's presentation, to the waiststaff, to the dishes - Tara Thai is a feast for the eyes. If only the food was better.
My husband and I love Thai food. A Military retiree, he spent a lot of the '80's & '90's in Thailand, and we eat at Thai restaurants everywhere we travel. Since my husband usually orders in Thai (he likes to keep his language skills current), we generally get phenomenal food - sometimes delicacies that are off-menu. Even his language skills, charm, and extreme knowledge of Thai culture wasn't enough warrant a good meal.
It wasn't horrible, understand -- it was, well, blah. nothing was seasoned properly. Even his requests for his curry to be "pet mok" (very hot), and his assurance that he really did want it "the ways Thais eat it", netted bland, American-style Thai-like food.
We would have been happier with Pad Thai from a box, microwaved at home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbelle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good choice for Yhai food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited with friends. Service was fast and friendly. The food was good but not outstanding and the portions were not big. OK atmosphere but I enjoyed the company more than the food. The positive is that it is not expensive for a reasonably good Thai meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Sure Scarlett Would Recognize It”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This chain that serves Thai food is consistently good but not great. Service is always very friendly. Most dishes are nice and they do not all taste the same, as too frequently occurs these days. You can always try a neighborhood Thai restaurant and hope for the best. With Tara Thai, you can be fairly certain of a good meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SafariFamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing