We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Canela

La Canela
Ranked #23 of 394 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

La Canela offers a great Peruvian food! I tried the lomo saltado and ravioles rellenos de ají de gallina, and the ceviche... Awesome! The price is really good for the food they offer!! I don't know if we can make reservations ahead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raquelcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    6
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love this resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have eaten once...it was for my anniversary. It was great! Beautiful atmosphere and food. I highly recommend it. I plan on coming back on my birthday! Can't wait!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiemiller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a Change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We tried a little of everything including Peruvian drinks. The owners father was a wealth of knowledge and told us all the stories. It made a memorable experience

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mutt239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“Excellent food, even better than restaurants in Peru!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Every time I am back in the area, the first restaurant my family visits is La Canela. We love every detail of it: the decorations, it makes you feel like you are in Peru; the music is great; the service is caring, and most important, the food is out of this world!
We ask for a variety of plates, so we can try each others food: ceviche, fried calamares, crab stuffed yuccas. All these appetizers are so tasty that we enjoy every bite of it.
For Marín course we love lomo saltado, it has the perfect balance of flavors and juiciness, aji de gallina, it is the best we have ever tried, arroz con mariscos, a mix of seafood with excellent rice with incredible flavors, and chupe de camarones, soup that customers shouldn't miss, I enjoy every spoon full of it.
The desserts are also very tasteful. The panacotta with raspberries, the tres leches, and if you're Peruvian and miss the picarones, come to La Canela....they are spectacular!
As you can see we love this place and we will continue to come as many times as we can when we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peruvian Change of Pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent food, professional service, good ambiance makes this Peruvian restaurant a very good change of pace from American/European fare. Around the corner from Rockville's Town Center square on Gibbs St., we found the Peruvian Yuquitas (mashed yucca balls, fried), Asadi de Tira (short ribs slow cooked in beer and served in a bowl of assorted Peruvian beans) and Chupe (shrimp chowder) of superior quality. Good selection of South American and Spanish wines. The pisco, described as a Peruvian brandy, was not to my taste and the Marguerita made with pisco was not interesting. Sit upstairs where it's quieter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Canela also viewed

 

Been to La Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing