We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maya

Villa Maya
Ranked #11 of 388 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
linds323
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just have to say that the food here is great. The prices are reasonable, they have a great variety, the staff is friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is inviting, and the food is delish! Definitely try the guac as an appetizer. They make it fresh at your table and it is the best that I have ever tasted. I will definitely be going back soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linds323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and I am so happy we did. I love Mexican/Southwest cuisine and this little place delivers. The food and the drinks are tasty and priced reasonably. Their margaritas are quite potent. I had 2 and I was a little tipsy. The fresh guacamole they make tableside is a little pricey but good. I have tried the carne asada, burritos, and fajitas and the food was delicious and filling. I will definitely add this restuarant to my list of local favorites.

The only complaint I have is the last time we visited they were very crowded and the waiter was anxious for us to order our food to turn the table. This only happened on one occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went here with a huge group (of 14) and found the staff most accommodating--they even allowed separate checks that the person who originally reserved for us didn't dare ask about. The food was fresh, they were generous with the chips and cilantro-laced salsa, and were patient with us as we placed our order. As you can imagine, with 14 it isn't easy! The food came quickly and the service was exceptional. There were plenty of options and everyone was able to find something they could eat. Great Tex-Mex and Latin American cuisine. Recommend the fried ice-cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pmr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“True Mexican food as it was meant to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Today is the second time coming to Villa Maya. Until eating here I was never a Dan if Mexican food. Probably because I had never had true Mexican food until now. This place is hands down the freshest and most authentic Mexican Restaurant around. It has been packed each time I came, and in speaking with others, it always is. The food is generously portioned, fresh and delicious! The staff is polite and attentive. The guacamole made fresh at your table side is a big plus! I will definitely come back regularly. I'm thankful it's only 15 mi utes from home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deadeyedhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Rockville!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We go to Villa Maya at least once a week. We have been faithful customers since we moved to the area 5 years ago. We followed the owner from his old restaurant, Tobascos, to this new location, which is so convenient and just what this area of Rockville needed! Margaritas on the outdoor patio in the summer is the best! Some of our favorite dishes are the Villamole, nachos, enchiladas, fajitas, flan, and fried icecream. The food is delicious, the prices are decent, the staff is friendly, and the atmosphere is fun! They have a separate bar room for enjoying the game, or a fiesta room for large group parties. The new additions of the table side guacamole and the tortilla maker, make this place stand out among other restaurants. We have had many fun times and celebrations here over the last 5 years, and it has become our Cheers! If you haven't visited Villa Maya yet, you must! Best Mexican restaurant in Rockville!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Maya also viewed

 

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing