We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Villa Maya

Villa Maya
Ranked #22 of 407 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We tried over two dozen Tex-Mex restaurants before we found Carmelo's Tabasco at Norbeck and Georgia Ave. in Rockville. We need look no farther. We followed him to Villa Maya and continue to enjoy the high quality food, deliciously prepared and beautifully served. The new guacamole table service along with the in-house made tortillas will continue to bring us back time and again. The atmosphere is colorful and tasteful. The service is tops too. The congenial owner and his staff are a rarity. We always feel welcome. Lunch or dinner: superb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlande2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Good-tasting and Comfortable”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a three course meal beginning with homemade tortilla chips and guacamole made at the table. This was followed by Pollo Jalisco, a dish of grilled chicken, tomatoes, onions, brocolli, beans and rice. My partner dined on Salmon and Shrimp in a safron sauce...also tasty. We finished with platanos fritos...just as good as you would find in San Salvador. Service is smooth and frequent. Atmosphere is friendly and busy. It is a large place but has enough staff to avoid much of a wait. This is a good place for two to larger groups. They even have a party room and bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgleekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Food is always exceptional and the place brings me back to the late 70's/early 80's when it was "Pancho Villa's".
Not thrilled with their margeritas though.... the one place they can improve.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TBarr212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place for Mexican food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Loved the food, especially the seafood burritos. I thought the guacamole made fresh at your table was fun and delicious although a bit pricey. Would go back in a heartbeat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardeningmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bring on the Mayans!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tried this Mexican food place three times so far. Great service and wonderful food each and every time. Nice bar and beer selection, too. It has been a great place for lunch with work pals, dinner with my wife, and looks like the bar area would be great for beers and sports on the flat screen. They have smartly segmented the dining areas to both insulate you from bar traffic and to cozy up your dining experience as well. Try one of the Saltado offerings for something different than what you find in too many Mexican joints. plenty of spicy and mellow options on the menu. Happy to have such a fun food place so close to work.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giac0min0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Maya also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing