We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Thursday Go To Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Watch

First Watch
Ranked #17 of 387 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thursday Go To Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Consistently good food, but inconsistent service on specific days. I avoid on Monday! The pancakes here are awesome, and HUGE! you only need 1! The sandwiches here are very good as well. My favorite is the BLT&E, the E is a fried egg! and you have a choice of greens or a bowl of soup. When they have seasonal soups, or clam chowder, I go for the soup.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
CCKoala - Thank you for all your visits! We are thrilled you always enjoy a fresh and delicious meal with us. However, we are sorry our service is not always as excellent as the food. You should expect the best from us, seven days a week, so your comments will be taken very serious. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten at this First Watch location several times. It has a great selection of breakfast food and sandwiches, but we've only been there for breakfast/brunch. We've enjoyed it each time. The breakfast food is excellent. They have huge, fluffy pancakes - and I mean huge! I once ignored the warnings (menu and waitress) and ordered three. That was (literally) a "huge" mistake. I have a healthy appetite, but couldn't finish them. Two are more than adequate! They also have excellent eggs benedict, omelets, French toast and coffee. The atmosphere is generally relaxed and casual, but it can get very busy and a little loud on weekend mornings, so plan accordingly. The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, this First Watch location is highly recommended. It's a great breakfast spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Phil1863 - Thank you for all your visits! We are so happy you always enjoy a relaxing and delicious breakfast or brunch with us. And you are right, our pancakes are very filling! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Creme-bruleed Waffle= enough said!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very good breakfast. No wait, nice location in downtown Rockville. I had the special creme bruleed waffle, with caramalized bananas, sugar-coated bacon, bacon-infused syrup, and fresh creme topping! It was amazing! Their menu was nice and I'm sure we'll be back to check out the rest of their items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freder85ico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
freder85ico - Thank you for stopping by for breakfast! We are so happy you enjoyed our special waffle. We hope to see you back soon to try more tasty items off our menu.

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can be a decent wait, but food is absolutely delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Popular spot in the Rockville town center for breakfast, usually packed. Service is friendly, food is absolutely delicious. Found this place via ZAGAT on google maps and it didn't disappoint. Fresh squeezed orange juice. Drip coffee is ok. Hashes and omelettes highly recommended. Pancakes are pretty good too.

Busy but good atmosphere, clean bathrooms, open kitchen so you can see in (if that sort of thing is cool to you).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melmel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Melmel79 - We are pleased you always enjoy our tasty breakfast food, atmosphere and clean environment. Thank you for all your visits!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went to First Watch on Mothers day line was out the door and they told us 30 minutes, the young lady at the counter pointed out coffee at the end of counter. I asked about tea for by 80 year old mother and she got some for her (I paid for it ) but was great and pleasant. Went out side to street side tables and waited for family enbers to arrive. we had 5 adults and 1-6year old. As they arrived we were called before 30 minutes. There were a few large families waiting because they had to wait to get tables side by side to move together. Our waiter was great kept coffee pot filled and water glasses filled also. The food was great things you would not fix at home. Plus they have the average breakfast fare. Would recommand to anyone looking for a special place this be the one for breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sg107e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
sg107e - We are so happy the entire family had such a nice visit with us. Thank you for spending Mother's Day with us!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing