We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great roast duck and other Hong Kong style dishes as well!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Pearl Restaurant

East Pearl Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 394 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A quick Google search turned up yelp and other sites about East Pearl, but there doesn't appear to be a dedicated website. Excellent food!
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great roast duck and other Hong Kong style dishes as well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have gone to this restaurant several times and we love the roast duck here. Of course, all the other dishes are great as well. Some notables are the beef with pepper sauce, Triple Delight (bean curd, green pepper, eggplant -- all stuffed with shrimp).and Wonton soup with wontons alone, no noodles. The service is friendly and food is good, so it's hard not to like this restaurant.

They are located across from the Wintergreen shopping plaza on Rockville Pike with parking next to the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lnbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Hong Kong style cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

solid authentic Cantonese cooking with a wide variety/menu. They can get very crowded. Can be noisy but the atmosphere is typical so go for the food

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mulan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Congee was very flavorful, unlike other Chinese restaurants, all of their stir fry was good, especially the bbq pork, and the fried fish was simply amazing. Very authentic Chinese cuisine. Another perk is that it is next to a Yo-Cake store. :)
One star off because some of the chairs wee slightly tattered and the windows were a bit dirty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PandaStar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beats Competitions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Best suited for party 6 of more so you get to taste several of their specialities BUT nothing wrong if you just want a bowl of congee or small plate for yourself. Service was good, plate change half way through is a wonderful way to appreciate your foods. We had roast duck, shrimp, salted fish fry rice, to fu, even the pea sprout was delightfully seasoned.

For the amount of food served, the quickness (so the food is hot off the wok), authentic seasoning, the properly cut, diced meats and veggies, this place gives you the best value and comfort feeling when the meal is done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
232 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Such a tasty dinner we returned for lunch the next day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

On another visit to DC to visit my mother, we made a last minute decision to eat dinner at the East Pearl. It was so tasty, we decided to eat lunch there again the next day!

The dishes we ate: Chicken Dumplings Hong Kong Style, Fried Noodles Hong Kong Style, Roast Pork, AND Mussels in Black Bean Sauce. The black bean sauce was amazing! Given that we are non-Chinese, they made everything "mild" as opposed to "spicy"!

Perhaps I was tired from traveling, perhaps I was happy to see my mother; whatever the reason,
we both agreed that the food was, how to you say, WOW! And both of us have eaten Chinese Food (real or American Style) all over the world (China, Hong Kong, London, Malaysia, New ?York, San Francisco, Singapore, Sydney, Taiwan, etc). When I return to DC in a month, we'll probably eat there again!

Well done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to East Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing