We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a flyswatter!”
Review of Quench

Quench
Reserve with OpenTable
Quench is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #284 of 408 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Maryland's Best New Restaurant award winner for 2013 and "Best Cocktails" award winner for 2014 as named by the Maryland Restaurant Association! Quench features artisan cocktails and modern American cuisine using local ingredients when possible, and served in snack, small and full-plate sizes. While eating, drinking and socializing at Quench, our guests experience the comfort of a neighborhood bar, mixed with amazing design elements, an attentive staff and incredible food prepared by our Chef (Ed Hardy, long-time sous Chef for Marcus Samuelsson) and cocktails. We have a dog-friendly patio -- the biggest and best patio in town -- and live music fills our room every Friday and Saturday night.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Get a flyswatter!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I invited my new boss here for brunch after the great reviews. A big mistake! The decor is strip mall ugly. The menu selections are uninspired. The service is terrible.

I can forgive a lot if the food is creative and tasty. Unfortunately, the eggs benedict came out hard boiled. The omelette was listless and had no potatoes, bread, roll...they even charged $3 extra for a bowl of watermelon balls. The creative-sounding salad was plain packaged field greens with a slice of avocado on top...we had to ask for some goat cheese to try to turn it into a meal. We didn't even have salt and pepper on the table. We asked repeatedly for the loud and bizarre music to be turned down.

The sad outdoor seating area is a few sorry tables squeezed in between the driveway and the parking lot.

This can't be #5 in Rockville...let's find some better places to eat with better cuisine and better atmosphere. But if you try to dine here, bring a flyswatter because the flies buzz around and really seem to appreciate the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Owner at Quench, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
This is an absurd and inaccurate review. Our GM personally waited on this table, provided exemplary service and said you were pleased with your food and refused her offers to replace anything and shunned attempts of servers to engage you as you were "meeting." If you have a problem with any part of service or food talk to a server or manager -- don't "suffer" in silence and then go home, hide behind a computer and cowardly and meanly bash a restaurant or business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Go Solo or with Friends”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The decor of the restaurant was OK. It looked like it was furnished and run by college-aged kids but that's what made it so nice. The place was packed (inside & outside) by the time I was finishing my meal but it wasn't noisy at all. What I heard more than anything was the club music playing in the background. I ordered the bistro steak, a margarita, and beignets. The steak and potatoes were great, the margarita too. The beignets were a little hard (Are beignets s'posed to be hard?). They came with chocolate sauce, that needed more sugar, and a fruit compote. The fruit compote was very interesting. It tasted like strawberry jam but there was something sour in it too. Whatever it was, I loved it. The service was great, Kelly was my waitress, and the ambiance was nice. People of all ages and races were eating here, but I did not see any kids. This was a cool place to eat. Eating here solo made me remember the days when I was a college-aged kid!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PrettyNJMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an enjoyable place to dine”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a new restaurant , only one year old in a nice quit area. we went in early evening The food was fabulous, we had Rock fish and Tuna, both were tasty, the desserts are baked in the restaurant and ours was delicious, we had a banana bread pudding. The service was very good. We highly recommend this restaurant for its food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We wanted to try this place because it was recently voted Best New Restaurant in the area. We were unfortunately somewhat disappointed. The decor was just so-so and the food nothing special. The waitress was nice enough, though I wouldn't use that as an excuse to hurry back. On a positive note: We did enjoy a nice bottle of wine so the evening was not a total loss!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank khittinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Small Plates”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went here on a groupon and we really enjoyed the food, especially the sauces. Really like the Pork Belly. Very tender and wonderful rich sauce. The Mahi was also very good and had a very nice sauce. Also enjoyed the tuna tartar, but would have a little wasabi on the side. The prices were very reasonable. The service was a little slow, but the food was worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T_L_H34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quench also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Potomac, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Quench? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing