We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A & J Restaurant

A & J Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 406 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
travelingmag
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Located in a small strip mall on Rockville Pike. This place is packed and expect a short wait. The food is very authentic northern Chinese. Mostly noodles, dim sum, and soups. Very little fish or seafood on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good northern dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

great selection and quick service. soups not to be missed.
Have taken picky eaters here and they found stuff they loved.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetiredNLuvinIt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“I don't understand what is the fuss about?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had high expectations for this restaurant. It was recommended by a Taiwanese friend and a Chinese friend who is a native of Beijing. It was not difficult to find if you have a GPS, if not, it might be hard to notice. There is parking up front. The restaurant is small. The menu is not large, it is not the fine dining type. It serves a varieties of noodles and rice dishes and some northern Chinese snacks. I am reluctantly to call it Northern Dim Sum, as dim sum is for Southern Chinese cuisine. I ordered Scallion pancake, Pan-fried pork dumplings, steamed beef dumplings, poached Chinese cabbage, Pork rib with rice. Now the rice is very nice, the quality is better than other Chinese restaurant I have been to. The Pork Chop or Pork Rib as it was described in the menu was actually deep friend and not pan fried, and it was dry, there was no moisture in it. The pan-friend pork dumpling is so so, some of the dumpling were still stuck together with the dough not cooked, I think it might have been deep fried too. The Scallion pancake was think and heavy. I remember I had them in Beijing and Shanghai before, they were light and fluffy. It feels like they had been re-fried. The steamed beef dumpling is very ordinary, the wrapping is very heavy too. I find it there is no vegetable dishes on the menu is weir, I have to ask the waitress, and she said the only vegetables they serve is poached Chinese cabbage. Having said all the above, it is a real cheap eat, all those comes to $26. I don't think I have been to a cheaper Chinese restaurant than this. On the other hand, I cannot see myself driving 40 minutes to go there from down town DC. If the food were better I would have no problem. It is very ordinary, nothing that wows me. May be I am comparing it to the quality in Hong Kong, New York, London, Beijing or Shanghai. It is ok once in a while when I am desperate for a Chinese food fix, since the Chinese food is so crap in down town DC. What surprise me was there were all these awards from the newspaper...etc. I guess the food review was not done by a person who have experienced better Chinese food. So I don't understand what is the fuss about??

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Superlegalbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level Contributor
407 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Like homemade food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Chinese food, mostly dumplings and noodle soups. There are some small side dishes, good for 1 person to go and choose several dishes. Nothing is elaborate, but taste like homemade simple food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloriawpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Buried in a plain mall on Rockville Pike is a wonderful Dim Sum place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sure its plain, but the food is extremely well prepared and delicious. While I am not a fan of the traffic along Rockville Pike which can be painful, this restaurant is well worth the drive. While most dim sum establishments are Hong Kong style, this features more northern style fare. The food is light, not heavy or greasy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Outbackdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A & J Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to A & J Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing