We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Persian Cuisine at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market

Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 406 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congressional Lane
Description: Yekta Kabobi is a unique family owned and operated authentic Persian restaurant. We were the first middle eastern grocery store and restaurant in the DC metropolitan area, and have been around since 1979. We specialize in the making of all types of kabobs. We also offer authentic Persian cuisine on a daily basis. We are located in Rockville, Maryland and easily accessible from anywhere in the Washington metropolitan area.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Persian Cuisine at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Yekta has a middle eastern grocery store where the pallet is delighted by fresh and dried exotic produce such as fresh figs, pistachio nuts, and dates as well as many canned and bagged goods such as a range of rice and jams etc.... The restaurant is first class with great service, delightful ambiance and reasonable prices with the menu of very traditional Persian dishes, the most popular and tasty of which are their kabobs - a visit with someone familiar with Persian cuisine is advised fro the most compatible dish for the individual guest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bez009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    47
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Yekta has it all. Nice atmosphere- beautiful ceiling murals, great food, and good waitstaff.
It was recommended by a friend who said it served authentic Persian food. I have been here several times and the food has been consistently served hot and tasty. The beef kabobs are flavorful, served with plenty of Persian rice and a roasted tomato. The cornish hen was also very good.
Reservations are recommended as they are usually busy during the peak hours but if you're willing to wait, they will sit you fairly quickly. Prices are very reasonable for the amount of food you get. Casual dress. Do stop by their market next door. A lot of what is served at the restaurant may be purchased there. Also, try the Saffron Ice cream for something different. It's really good with chunks of cream and pistachios.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ECG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Vibrant Setting, Delectable Dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I had dinner with two friends at Yekta on April 14th around 7:30PM. My first impression was: easy to get to, decent parking, great atmosphere (dim and cozy but with a good energy). We did not have reservations but were seated immediately. The volume level was moderate as there were a fair amount of folks dining there that night but it wasn't overwhelming or distracting.

The waitress was attentive and could answer a lot of our questions about the multitude of menu choices and she was a great source for recommendations.

The first thing we were served was complimentary flat bread with onion and butter. The bread was a balance of crispy and soft - this was different than traditional nan but still wonderful. Then we ordered hummus and it was amazing. Definitely made in house - a creamy swirl of beige drizzled with olive oil and garlic. Yum.

For an entree, I ordered the Soltani which is a combination plate of two kabobs, one with chicken and one with koobideh with 1/2 rice and 1/2 salad. Portion-wise, it was a huge serving. I ended up taking 1/2 home with me. The chicken kabob had a wonderfully rich flavor - definitely marinated - but the chicken was a little dry for my taste. I loved the koobideh kabobs - they were like small meatballs. They were moist and savory and I would highly recommend them. The yellow and white basmati rice was cooked to perfection. The salad had a greek flair to it, complete with kalamata olives and feta with a tangy oil and vinegar dressing on the side.

By the end of the meal I had saved no room for dessert so, I cannot comment on those.

Bottom line: The food is ethnic, delicious, and ample. The atmosphere lends itself well to both intimate dinners as well as group events.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jzamostny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Persian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Four of us ate there and all of us had a fine meal. Good food, reasonably priced, a pleasant environment and good service. If we lived closer, we'd be back regularly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkLOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious Kabobs and pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Consistently good kabobs at a very reasonable price. The people are always friendly. The restaurant is clean and cheerful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CYLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market also viewed

 

Been to Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing