We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel - Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel - Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We need a big room, 3 adult, 1 kid and 2 teenagers (big like a tall adult), and we found it: a big suite with 1King, 2Queen and a bed/sofa was perfect for us, everyone had their space. All found something they could like (and love) at the breakfast and when you have teenagers a buffet is perfect. The playroom help too to keep them busy. Really you get a lot for what you pay. I'm looking to go back next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank PlayaTropical1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear PlayaTropical1964,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent family trip to the area! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy that you found great value in our hotel. Our large suites are definitely great for large families, and I'm glad that our breakfast provided something for everyone, and that our kids room was enjoyed by the kids! Thank you again, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    97
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
207
61
18
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed at this place 6 times in 2014, often with at least one member of my family. For the location, cleanliness, hotel staff and amenities, it's almost as good as an Embassy Suite. The food could use some help. The shuttle to the Metro can be hit/miss. But overall, a very nice place to stay. The shuttle drivers are all very cool gentlemen...friendly. Tip them well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello Roberto M,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Homewood Suites Rockville! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm happy to hear that you enjoy our location, cleanliness, amenities and hotel team. I appreciate your input on our Food & Beverage offerings and our shuttle service. We are always looking to get better, and these items will certainly be addressed so we can improve our services. Also, thank you for your recognition of our shuttle drivers. They are vital members of our team, and I be sure to share your wonderful comments amongst our entire staff. Thank you again, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My family and I loved staying at this hotel. We wanted a inexpensive getaway close to our home in Washington, DC. There areso many nice, cozy features that made the trip perfect ( a kids room, awesome outdoor seating etc, closeness to metro and shopping...) We wanted to stay longer but had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Benita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Benita A,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent family getaway! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our kid's room, outdoor patio and convenient location. We certainly would have liked to have you stay longer as well, but we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
640 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a relatively new property that is combined with a Hilton Garden. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk and no employees in sight. I had to call the hotel phone number, which rang at the Hilton Garden, to attract someone's attention. I noticed the same thing the following morning. It appears that management is trying to share employees between the hotels....it's not working.

Our room was very nice. The furniture/bed were comfortable and everything was spotless. The AC worked well but was a little loud. The layout of the rooms helps to keep noise from the hallway to a minimum.

This hotel serves the standard Homewood breakfast. The area was clean and the items were refreshed regularly. This area is combined with the lobby and is very nice; however, there were not adequate tables and chairs for peak breakfast hours.

This hotel has implemented the electronic receipt policy. I don't like it as it requires a check out at the desk if you want a copy of the bill (I do!). I had to wait several minutes while the clerk chatted with another customer. This would not have been necessary had the bill been placed under our door.

Overall, we like this hotel and its location. We'll stay again but hoping that the issues mentioned could be adjusted.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbhakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear hbhakh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent trip to the area. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm sorry that you were not greeted upon your arrival. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional arrival experience, and we clearly failed in providing that experience for you. We are a dual branded property, but each front desk is to always be properly staffed, and it will certainly be addressed to ensure our future arriving guests are properly welcomed. I'm glad that you found our suites to be very nice and comfortable, and I'm happy that our large layout helped with the A/C noise. It's great that you enjoyed the selection of food and cleanliness of the reception area during breakfast, but I'm sorry that the tables and chairs did not provide adequate space. I'm sorry that you do not like our paperless receipt program. However, we are happy to print out and deliver your receipt prior to your departure. This service can be requested at any time during your stay. Thank you so much again for your feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We visit Rockville each summer and enjoy staying here for the nice two room suites with kitchen, two HDTVs, and a nice, included breakfast each morning. The hotel is in good shape, and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Scott L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent family trip to Rockville! We greatly appreciate your feedback and your loyalty, and it's great to hear that you enjoy our large suites, HDTVs, complimentary hot breakfast, and friendly staff. These are definitely a few of the many reasons our guests continue to return, and we certainly to welcoming you and your family back next summer, or any other time you are visiting the area. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here 10 days during our first family visit to DC. Overall, it was a good experience. The room was comfortable and clean, and the pool was indoors - nice for the kids.

The staff was hit or miss while we were there. The shuttle bus drivers were exceptional - always helpful, polite, personable, and full of good ideas. The front desk personnel weren't all well-trained and did not all know the area. NOTE: the hotel is 3 miles from the metro, and it's not really walkable!

Like the other reviewers, we enjoyed the breakfast as well as the evening "light dinner." The breakfast staff was really nice, but the woman who put out the evening food and was supposed to serve drinks to the adults acted frantic, put-upon if you requested a drink, and completely frazzled. A lot of the guests would line up at the kitchen door, knock loudly, and have to request a drink. She would pour the drink, but glare at all of us. When one family asked if they had Caesar dressing for the Caesar salad, and she said, "No. The blue cheese and vinaigrette are the only dressings we are going to serve this week." That made for a strange Caesar!

Overall, the value was good. Parking is free, and the shuttle drives you anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. A Safeway is nearby, and the mall is also convenient.

Because we were visiting the monuments and museums in downtown DC, I recommend staying at the Homewood Suites in DC rather than this far out, though. If you have a meeting in Rockville or Gaithersburg, this is a good spot.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room next to the adjacent Hilton Garden on the weekend. The banquet room often host...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMOMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear CMOMOM,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent 10-day family visit the D.C. area! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm glad to hear that the suite was comfortable and clean and that the kids enjoyed our indoor pool! I'm sorry for the inconsistencies with our staff during your stay. It's great that our shuttle drivers were exceptional, but we strive to be exceptional on all levels. Your input is valuable to us, and we will continue to train our front desk team members to ensure that we can deliver excellent service. I'm very sorry for the many issues you encountered during our evening reception. There is no excuse for that sort of treatment, and we have already made adjustments to ensure that it does not occur again. I'm glad that you did find good value at our hotel with our complimentary parking and shuttle service, and convenient location. Thank you so much again for your feedback, and we certainly hope to welcome you and your family back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

this is a great place for a multiple day business trip - the rooms were roomy with a living area, kitchen facilities and free internet - the staff was friendly and the location was convenient to the businesses and hospital nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello David G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent business trip to the area! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay for a multiple day business trip. Our large suites, complimentary high-speed internet, convenient location and friendly staff are a few of the many reasons our guests continue to come back. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the Rockville area. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
4.6 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Property: Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Address: 14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#1 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Rockville-Gaithersburg offers all the amenities of home, with the service that will make you want to return. Featuring 87 well-appointed guest suites, offering studio king, one bedroom king, 2 bedroom king, and 1 bedroom 2 queen bed suites, your sure to enjoy your time with us. Each stay includes our famous "Suite Start" breakfast offering a vast array of hot and cold nutritious options to start your day. We also offer complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius (7am-9pm), free high speed wireless internet access, room service, indoor heated pool and whirlpool, and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg Hotel Rockville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing