We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!!!!”

Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: It’s not in the dictionary, but if it was, Go Ape would be described as a ‘tree top adventure’.That means we build giant obstacle courses up in the trees using ladders, walkways, bridges and tunnels made of wood, rope and super-strong wire, and top it all off with the world's best zip lines.We then equip people with harnesses, pulleys and carabiners, give them a 30 minute safety briefing and training and let them loose into the forest canopy, free to swing through the trees. Of course, instructors are always on hand, regularly patrolling the forests (not in monkey suits unfortunately!)The result is spectacular. The Go Ape experience gets the adrenalin pumping, gets people out of their comfort zones and above all (no pun intended), it’s just great fun.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun!!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Great course - over six acres of zip linning. It's an impressive course, mostly in the air, I went on a groupon and I loved it . I can't wait to go back again.

Helpful?
Thank MrPeteVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    16
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent fun for adults and kids alike......”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Though you can only go as an adult to chaperone children..... so make sure you go before everyone is too big. What great fun, after training and instruction which means you are held on by sometimes 3 clips, you stumble across wobbly plank bridges, pull yourself along wires and ropes and zoom down zip wires. We went on half term when it was packed and sunny but cool in the shade and to be fair, there was quite a bit of queuing at the beginning, then as people thinned out it got to around 20 minutes wait. Last section was virtually wait-free as many had given up going back for lunch. Nice picnic area, lots of (paying) parking and all my children enjoyed it, only my 14 yo son could do the main course, the two girls had to do the junior section which they enjoyed nonetheless. So well done Go Ape - nice job.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Went for my daughters birthday..was 10 people in our group...this was my 2nd time going...went oct 2013..this place is great..staff is really good..we were late getting there due to traffic but they accommodated us w/no problems..course takes about 2-3hrs..there a 6 obstacles & in between each obstacle there is a zip line..it can be very tiring by the time you get to the 4th obstacle which by the way is the highest & harderst obstacle to do..had a lot of fun but we are all exhausted!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carmellatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun for Adults and kids”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our group had 2 adults, 2 12yo, and 2 10yo and we went over spring break on a weekday morning. It was soo much fun. 2 of the kids were very nervous about the whole thing but the safety lecture (it was a lecture!) was thorough then the short training course made everything less confusing and gave people confidence. It is a series of 6 courses with each one ending in a zipline. We went slow because of strict supervision rules so it took us a little more than 4 hours.

About the supervision rules - they are not kidding about keeping an eye on the youngers! There are employees around the course making sure everybody is okay. If they catch somebody doing something wrong (i.e. something unsafe) the staff doesn't hesitate to shout up at you. And if it is one of the youngers screwing up they will speak to the adult. Slightly annoying, but definitely reminds you that the safety rules are important and are enforced.

The only downside were the rope ladders you had to take up to the start of the course because they were a major time suck. However, once in the trees things moved smoothly.

All in all - would totally do it again. The kids that were nervous about heights did great and had a fun time. Also, since everybody has to do their own clipping and out it gave the kids a good sense of responsibility. (The adults double checked everything!)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“It's in the Trees”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the best obstacle course in the world and can also be quite a workout. Hanging upside down sixty feet above the ground and stretching for something to hold on to can be terribly frightening and fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank innerbum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing