We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Consistently very good but was noisy this time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Addie's Restaurant
Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD
(301) 881-0081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Potomac
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistently very good but was noisy this time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've been there at least five times and have always considered it a dining experience rather than just a place to eat. Fresh ingredients are important to them and you can taste it. Service has always been very good also. Last night we went with another couple and three tables away was a loud threesome. Noise really carries in their main small room and it simply was hard to hear. The mussels were outstanding and the swordfish was very good as was the vegetable pairing which came with it. Luckily the noisy couple left soon afterwards. When my wife and I pay over $150 in a restaurant the noise level has to be considered part of the meal which is why I can't rate it as excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Used to be my hands down favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

not as good on last two visits. great burger, mussels, deessert is usually worth the calories. Kitchen seems to be slipping a little in terms of presentation and caring service. Still like it...but no raves this time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A gem where you least expect it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Visiting fellow publishers near the Medical Center in Bethesda, and we went to this place which is in a house along a busy road. The interior is bright and cheery, and the staff friendly and efficient. I was expecting Good, but not particularly exciting American classics, but was pleasantly surprised by an interesting menu. I had the special soup which was a modern twist on borschcht with cabbages, but extremely tasty. I had the special pulled pork-type sandwich, which was also excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Berlineric1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GOOD THINGS COME IN SMALL PACKAGES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This small restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. It is small, which means that it can be a bit noisy, but the feeling is one of warmth and coziness. The menu has steak, hamburger, several fish options, pork and a pasta dish. Ther appetizers are also very interesting . This is very good American cooking. We found the staff to be very attentive, always filling our water, coke, etc. They explained the dishes and offered helpful suggestions. There is no liquor, only wine.
Be sure to make reservations, as the space is not huge and the restaurant was full. I have only been for dinner, but others say lunch is also a very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
449 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food, very good service, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This restaurant is located on the Rockville Pike in a small, nicely-decorated house. The ambiance is intimate and comfortable. The service is very prompt and very efficient (I would have preferred it to have been a little bit more friendly).

We dined on a Tuesday night and were pleasantly surprised to find out that bottles of wine were half-priced. We drank a delightful bottle of Malbec for only $20. My wife and I shared a Caesar salad, which was very tasty with a fair amount of shaved parmesan, toasted croutons and very fresh white anchovies. My wife ordered the roasted chicken (with polenta and leeks), while I ordered the sautéed trout (with Yukon gold potato gallette, egg salad, smoked trout roe, and grilled scallions). We both felt that the sides were very good and a little bit out of the ordinary. However, we also felt that the chicken and trout were a little bit on the bland side.

All in all, I'd say that it's a good place to eat, because of the ambiance and side dishes, and because the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing