We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Oro Pomodoro - CLOSED

Oro Pomodoro
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Rockville Metro Station - Red Line
Description: At Oro Pomodoro you will taste the real, authentic Italian cusine, full of flavor and served with passion. Everything from our appetizers to our pasta dishes are prepared using the original recipes, taken from regions, such as Tuscany to Sicily, through Campania to Piemonte. We are proud to be also the first certified "Neapolitan Pizzeria" in Maryland since the recipe of our pizza, from the dough to the toppings, meet all the requirements requested from the European Union. We are proud to bring the real Italy to Rockville! Buon Appetito!
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food here is consistently good from brunch through dinner. Bar staff is friendly. Service at the tables is quick. There is rarely much of a wait. Restaurant can get a little noisy. Being in the center of Rockville town center means plenty of garage parking and the restaurant will validate your parking, good for 2 hours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lack of everything”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Mediocre service, effortless staff, food was lacking in flavor and it took forever . Actually everything took forever, from the drink order to the meal...it felt like they were doing us a favor. Hospitality zero!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yama13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited resturant since we are always trying to find the perfect pizza.
The pizza is wood fired and the crust is thin which is what we like.
Unfortunately the door was wide open that day and it was freezing in there. I asked to have it closed and it took them a while before they complied. Since it was January and cold outside I really didnt see the need for the door to be open at all.
My house salad was very good, dressing was great!
All in all it was not a bad visit, but no sure that we would try it again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Questionable food and lousy service”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our dinner didn't start well, thanks to a host who has a bad attitude. Restaurants should feel welcoming, not give the impression you are putting them out by asking for a table. Service was spotty, including them ignoring my son so we had to ask for water and bringing us the wrong entree. My meal was burnt and I kept finding these had crunchy pieces that I'm guessing were bone chips (I hope!). The non-burnt part had a decent flavor, but it was ruined by randomly finding a burnt section that tasted awful. There's so many restaurant choices here, it's not worth it to pick a place that underperforms. Also, even though there were a number of kids in the restaurant, I would not recommend it for kids. There are no menu options for them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oropomodoro, Owner at Oro Pomodoro, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
My name is Biagio Cepollaro and I am one of the owners here at Oro Pomodoro.
I'd like to thank you for your valuable feedback and I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience at our restaurant was completely unsatisfactory. Please accept my apology and a $30 gift certificate that you can use on your next visit. (Simply print this message and ask for me upon your arrival).
Also, I would like to ask you just one thing: when did you visit us? That will help me to better understand who and why performed so poorly.
Please feel free to contact me to further discuss about your experience.
I thank you for your patience and time.
Biagio Cepollaro
Co Owner
Oro Pomodoro
t. 3012511111
e. oroinfo@oropomodoro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Mediocre food at best”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I'll keep this short. This place prides itself on its pizza but the crust is extremely soggy. Simply not a good pizza. And the main courses are overpriced for what you get. They've got a convenient location if you're in Rockville Town Square but this just isn't good Italian food. You can get better elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Pomodoro also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing