We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dumplings In the Area!”

China Bistro/Mama's Dumplings
Ranked #104 of 411 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Germantown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Dumplings In the Area!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This non-descript strip mall Chinese restaurant has AMAZING dumplings! If a friend hadn't taken me there I would have easily driven right past thinking it didn't look like anything special. That all changed when I walked in and saw a packed restaurant with delicious food!

Friendly folks at surrounding tables bragged of driving 20 miles from Virginia to get these famous dumplings. The crowd looked to be about 80% Chinese which my friend assured me was a sign that the food was authentic. Whatever it was, the dumplings were delicious! I've also tried the lo mein, fried rice, scallion pancakes, and spring rolls which were all good but the dumplings are the star here.

Although a new good dumpling place "East Dumpling House" recently opened about a mile away, it has nothing on this GREAT dumpling paradise!

Don't let the average exterior fool you. China Bistro has the best Chinese dumplings in the area!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Kung Pao Fish”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I hadn't been to this restaurant in a few years, not since they stopped offering several dishes that I had enjoyed. Was I ever surprised when I walked in the door! The place had been redecorated and the menu revised. My husband and I ordered the kung pao fish and fried vegetable dumplings. The dumplings were as good as he remembered (he has ordered them from time to time in the past few years, usually as take out). As for the kung pao fish, it was excellent! It was the best kung pao "anything" I have ever eaten! The dish is spicy, but not uncomfortably so, with a beguiling and memorable mix of flavors. I've been back a couple more times, each time ordering the kung pao fish, and it is always superb. Another nice thing about this restaurant is that it serves quite good bubble tea, which is enjoyable alone or with a meal. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SECh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I drove 20 miles after placing an order to find out that they are sold out of the Veggie Dumplings. I am a strong believer of 1s”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My first time here and the staff looked stressed and was not professional to handle the crowd. They need to hire more people to handle the crowd.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BKYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best dumplings outside of NYC or LA or Xian!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have eaten Chinese food literally all over the world, including Hong Kong and Mainland China. These dumplings are fabulous. Note there are 12 to an order... we over ordered on carryout but we will enjoy them as leftovers. The place is a bit Spartan. They have about 15 tables. We will go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MdTravelerX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dumplings!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The dumplings were excellent! We also tried a tofu skins appetizer and ended the meal with Bubble Tea. My favorite was the dumplings. I understand their dumplings are handmade. There were about 9-10 to a plate/order.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cpalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Bistro/Mama's Dumplings also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to China Bistro/Mama's Dumplings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing