We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Ranked #2 of 10 Rock Hall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, PA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One Of The Best”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the inn. We are pretty experienced with B&B's and we would rate this inn as one of the best. We rate an inn as excellent when the accommodations are exceptional, the inn is spic and span, breakfast is good, owners make you feel welcome and they care about the small details. Jim and Joanne provided all of these. Within minutes of arriving at the inn and at our request due to the weather forecast, Joanne had changed our arrangements for a sunset sail cruise and we were off and sailing! The inn is large and roomy with plenty of space in the common areas. Our room was in the main inn and was spotless. The king size bed with crisp sheets and very comfy comforters provided a great nights sleep. The pool area is very relaxing and the gardens are beautiful. We walked some of the property and spent time sitting on the dock watching the wildlife. Complimentary beverages are provided and includes soda, water, wine and beer. Jim and Joanne will provide suggestions and directions for dinner. We were pleased with both restaurants they recommended. Breakfast was one of the most enjoyable we had at a B&B. Food was excellent. We were able to share breakfast with 2 other couples and Jim and Joanne. The conversation just flowed and it was such fun getting to know one another. You can tell that Jim and Joanne truly love Rock Hall and enjoy running their inn. They could not have been more welcoming. We would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    12
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
213
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a delightful mini-break at the Inn. Joanne and Jim were kind enough to greet us when we arrived late Friday and show us to our room. Trumpington was the perfect accomodation for the 3 of us providing comfort and ample space. The community breakfast was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the company of the Inn guests. So, what do folks talk about when you don't know each other? Oh, just about everything. :)
We explored the property with Java (Joanne and Jim's trusted pet) with awe. It is just beautiful!
My husband and I will be staying for a longer weekend in September and cannot wait. We have already talked about our list of places to go and things to do. You truly need a good 1/2 day just to caputure all the beauty of Eastern Neck.
A special thank you to Joanne, Jim and all of their staff. You can tell their heart goes into everything at the Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCInnkeepers, Owner at Inn at Huntingfield Creek, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The Zen Cottage and we will be eagerly ready and waiting for your next visit. Return visitors are always our favorites. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from our 2nd time at this wonderful inn. The accommodations and amenities exceeded our expectations. The breakfast, especially Sunday morning was great. This is an exceptional place for couples and families both. It offers the best of both worlds. We stayed in the Zen cottage which worked well for us as we wanted separate sleeping spaces. The pool and garden which had butterflies galore was a great addition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Inn at Huntingfield Creek for two days last week. I had stumbled on to the Inn a couple years ago when I painted their barn while in a painting competition in nearby Chestertown, MD. What can I say other than it is about perfect and that my wife wants to sell our home and move down into one of their cottages. The Inn is homey and comfortable and has all the amenities. Innkeepers Jim and Joanne Rich easily make you feel like you're family and that they're glad to see you. Joanne is a fabulous chef and her breakfast is an award winner. The large den invites nesting and browsing through travel magazines, enjoying the garden view and complimentary wine. Our cottage had everything..... see through gas fireplace, hot tub, flat screen TV, most comfortable king bed, deck, kitchenette, even our own kettle grill, complete with a can of briquettes, fuel and matches.
Surrounding the inn and cottages are fields of lavender and sunflowers. The barn is finished with wide doors and a chandelier..... perfect for wedding receptions, etc. A short walk down the path takes you to the adirondack chairs on the docks on the creek leading to the Chesapeake. Great for a sunset lounge. Back at the cottage is the salt water pool surrounded by the flower garden and herb garden Joanne uses in her kitchen.
Jim and Joanne arranged for our sunset cruise a very short drive away at the Rock Hall marina, with most personable Captain Mark and his first mate/wife, Suzanne. Just four of us on his magnificent sailboat sailing lazily on the Bay, with Suzanne's margaritas. Then steamed Maryland crabs on the deck at Waterman's topped off our trip.
It is pretty obvious Joanne and Jim are in this with a love and passion for what they do. This is a real treat for anyone looking for that getaway and memorable experience.
(Oh, when you go, check out my pastel painting of the barn and garden on the wall in the dining room.)

Room Tip: There are a handful of cottages, like the Pond cottage, the Zen cottage, each with its own personali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCInnkeepers, Owner at Inn at Huntingfield Creek, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Gosh, we feel honored by this guest's comments. Thanks for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were over from Holland on a trip to Philadelphia and decided to stay here for 2 nights. We were not disappointed vs. de website or comments - indeed a very welcoming place and great location for a relaxing holiday away from it all but close enough to Rock Hall for a short bike ride there or to the wonderful nature resort down the road further South.
We recommend anyone to go here and enjoy the great room we had, home made breakfast and drinks as one likes. The pool is perfectly located, and the estate perfect for a romantic stroll.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Based on the website for the inn, I went in with very high expectations. The Inn was beautiful. It was set back from the road (but take bug spray if you want to spend time outside). Our room was beautiful. It was one of the shower only rooms and I would recommend a tub/shower room if you prefer larger showers. Our room was quiet. No tv (as we prefer it). No stereo, but there was a clock radio. Downstairs there was a small fridge with wine beer, diet coke and water that was available all the time. This was nice. There is also a pool (no fitness center) and plenty of grounds to walk or jog around for exercise.

The innkeepers were away when we visited, which was disappointing to us. I don't know if our experience would have been different had they been there.

One of the reasons we choose b & bs is the breakfast. And that was where my expectations fell far short. It was just a normal breakfast and there wasn't even half and half with the coffee. Just milk. And when you're used to 1/2 and 1/2, milk just isn't the same. The breakfast was just normal stuff. eggs with cheese, toast, a little granola and yogurt, fruit salad--nothing to write home about. So, I was disappointed. But, affected me more was that the breakfast is only available at 8:30 a.m. My husband and I are early risers and it would have been very easy to have some muffins or a snack available. The closest place to eat is a bit of a drive. (I also wish there had been an afternoon snack available as many B&Bs have.) One family didn't understand that they had to come in at 8:30 and so they came in at 9:30 a.m. The two gals in the kitchen turned them away without even offering a piece of coffee cake (dense, nothing unusual) or granola and yogurt. I was disappointed in this service and I'm not sure that I would return.

The Inn was very nice, but my husband and I are foodies and the breakfast (+time of breakfast is available) and absence of an afternoon snack made me wish for more. I think I'll be looking for another place to stay on our next trip to this area...

Room Tip: If you prefer a larger shower, choose a room that has a tub/shower option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCInnkeepers, Owner at Inn at Huntingfield Creek, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
After a thorough review with our Inn asst. and our Innsitter, who are both trusted and competent employees, we believe that everything presented this weekend in our absence was in line with Inn standards. A FULL country breakfast was offered and is what we pride ourselves on. The menu consisted of scrambled eggs w/cheddar cheese, bacon, link sausage, fresh fruit display, homefried potatoes, yogurt and granola, toasted sour dough bread, blueberry crumbcake, coffee crumbcake, juice, coffee and teas. The guests who arrived later were week-long visitors from the Netherlands and were given, by prior arrangement, vouchers for breakfast at our coffeehouse Java Rock.
It's a shame that this guest was disappointed. We work hard for that not to be the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The web site doesn't do this place justice. The B&B is on many acres of property, and after a walk through about an acre of meadows, you get to a private waterfront marsh and deck. The view is only from the porch, but it's a nice walk. They have little villas that allow babies, kids, and pets. We stayed in the main house upstairs, which was a lovely room. I really liked that they had a king bed with two separate comforters which made it easy to sleep. The bathroom shower was surprisingly one of those one piece plastic things, that was the only thing I thought was a bit weird. They have two labs and a little dog, who were so well behaved - they never licked or jumped on people, but were available for fetch and walking around with. Breakfasts are communal and served buffet style - fruit salad, berry bread pudding or corned beef hash were both nice! I would definitely stay here again. I only didn't give it five stars because it's in comparison to luxury hotels. It's certainly a five star experience with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericaninJkta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Hall
22.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
11.3 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
319 reviews
10.0 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Huntingfield Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Huntingfield Creek

Property: Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Address: 4928 Eastern Neck Rd, Rock Hall, MD 21661-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rock Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Huntingfield Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Huntingfield Creek, an historic, waterfront farm-estate in quaint Rock Hall, Maryland features upscale and romantic accommodations, family and pet-friendly cottages and private-event retreat facilities. Situated on Kent County's oldest land parcel, Huntingfield Manor was the hallmark of a 1,200-acre estate deeded by Lord Baltimore to the area's original settler, Thomas Ringgold. Ideal getaway from 'big-city blues' and the perfect setting for country-chic weddings, group meetings or reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Huntingfield Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing