We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive. Unfriendly hosts.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Huntingfield Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Ranked #2 of 9 Rock Hall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive. Unfriendly hosts.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

After reading the reviews online and in Frommers, I thought this place would be something special - especially for the price - and accepted pets. Very disappointing. The accommodations were extremely plain (outdated and mismatched). Definitely not an upscale cabin with a lot of privacy, but a duplex unit connected to another. The corner shower was ridiculously small - and not very clean and without AC so the room was stifling hot even before taking a shower; don't even think about trying to shave and I'm a small person. Fine linens advertised on website. Actually the type where comforter is top sheet - unsanitary and far too warm for summer, leaving one the choice of it or nothing. The AC was a window unit that shut itself off and, even when on, didn't keep the room very cool. We couldn't sleep.

No gourmet breakfast because they had family in town and didn't want to serve guests; instead, they gave vouchers to go to the local coffee shop they owned. Bagels? English muffin sandwich? Not exactly gourmet.

The hosts, Jim and Joanne, seemed bothered to have to check us in and respond to a problem with the AC. Checking out wasn't any better. I had to wait 15 minutes for host, who saw me waiting but continued to argue - loudly - with the other party on the phone, Finally, when he checked me out, rather than ask something cordial you may expect from a host, like "how was your stay?", he just complained to me about his various issues with credit card companies and the county and how expensive a pool deck repair would be.

Not a good experience and a poor value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ectravels2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn at Huntingfield Creek, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
We take all our reviews seriously and address correctable issues promptly. Admittedly, this review has us scratching our heads. This single guest booked a pet-friendly cottage because she was traveling with her dog. She was informed when booking that no breakfast was scheduled for that morning because of visiting grandchildren. We gave her a carte blanche voucher to use at our coffeehouse where there are interesting and upscale breakfast offerings. The cottage is very private and not a duplex. There was a glitch with the NEW state- of -the- art Mitsubishi A/C that we immediately corrected and left in working order. Our fine cotton duvet covers are laundered after any visit and our housekeeping staff are first- rate. The large bathroom in the cottage is newly remodeled with stall shower and Jacuzzi tub. The furnishings are comfortable and stylish. We are sorry the guest was apparently unhappy but still no closer to understanding why.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
203
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had found the Inn by way of Trip Advisor. It was everything the reviews said. Staying during the week included a complimentary 1 1/2 hr. sunset sail on the Chester River. Rooms were large, relaxing and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and allowed us an opportunity to meet the other guests. The hosts visited with everyone at that time which I felt was a nice addition. The dogs were especially well behaved. As my husband and I managed to sit and read most of one afternoon in the guest lounge we were able to make friends with the dogs. We enjoyed our complimentary wine and cheese. The owners are lovely interesting people. My only regret was that we didn't get to know them better. Perhaps another time.

There are cabins available, too. Quite a few things were offered: pool, walks, birding. We chose to sit, read, relax, nap.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and all of the rooms looked great. We stayed in the Blue Room and were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here to attend a wedding on a plantation nearby. As soon as we walked in we were greeting with such positive energy and generosity. The owners, Jim and Joanne, were so wonderful. Every little detail from the delicious chocolate-dipped fortune cookies, bottles of water and bathrobes all made the experience amazing. They have three amazing friendly dogs that also add such a great warmth to the Inn. The breakfast was outstandingly delicious, fair-trade teas, eggs, crispy bacon and home-fries were served. Although the area doesn’t have much to offer, this Inn in itself is a true beauty and a wonderful place to stay. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in Chestertown, you won’t regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I treated my husband for his birthday to this exceptionally beautiful and accommodating B and B. Joanne and Jim and their family pay attention to the small details, from the light filled rooms, the appointments, comfortable beds and bathrooms, bathrobes, gardens, swimming pool, bikes, pond, and a special spot on the Bay. Their breakfasts are plentiful and superbly cooked. Wine and beer are available at all hours. You are only minutes away from restaurants, a beach, antique shops and coffee shop and sailing charter (great deal with Blue Crab and Captain Mark). This is a place to which you will want to return.

Room Tip: There are also cottages availiable in addition to the main house. There is one common TV but not ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I just returned to reality from a wonderful weekend at the Inn. Jim and Joanne are fantastic, truly catering to your every need. The setting is idyllic - large open fields, pond, walk to the Chesapeake Bay, and gorgeous grounds. The 3 dogs became instant friends.

We stayed in the Pond Cottage - a modern, spacious, and extremely comfortable. The floor in the bathroom is heated, the whirlpool is relaxing, and the king bed is tough to get out of in the morning.

Definitely stop by Java Rock for a quick bite, smoothie, or just to browse the cute trinkets on sale. Also, try to eat at the Kitchen along Main Street - truly a treasure.

Overall, we cherished our time away from reality for our "Babymoon" and highly recommend the trip for those interested in a top notch B&B away from it all.

Room Tip: Pond Cottage is a top choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Pond Cottage. It was absolutely wonderful and so peaceful and quiet. Jim and Joanne are wonderful hosts and we loved the doggies as well. Enjoyed the restaurants and being close to the marinas. Great place to have a wedding. I highly recommend this place.
Thank you Jim and Joanne.
Larry and Patty F.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I together with another couple stayed here for two nights in March and our experience was just wonderful. We were met by Amy upon arrival who immediately made us feel comfortable, showed us to our rooms and gave us a quick tour of the house. Jim and Joanne the owners and most gracious hosts arrived later . We were made to feel like we were their friends and enjoyed the delicious breakfast made by them each morning as we sat around the table talking. The rooms are spacious and lovely and the setting of the estate is beautiful. A great place to relax and unwind, you will not be disappointed and Jim and Joanne will make suggestions on what to do in the area and where to eat. Stop by the great coffee shop "Java Rock" in Rock Hall for a lite bite and great coffee. Ken and Cathy, NJ

Room Tip: Stayed in the main house and you can't go wrong with any of the rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Hall
22.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
10.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 9 in Rock Hall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
10.0 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Huntingfield Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Huntingfield Creek

Property: Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Address: 4928 Eastern Neck Rd, Rock Hall, MD 21661-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rock Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Huntingfield Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Huntingfield Creek, an historic, waterfront farm-estate in quaint Rock Hall, Maryland features upscale and romantic accommodations, family and pet-friendly cottages and private-event retreat facilities. Situated on Kent County's oldest land parcel, Huntingfield Manor was the hallmark of a 1,200-acre estate deeded by Lord Baltimore to the area's original settler, Thomas Ringgold. Ideal getaway from 'big-city blues' and the perfect setting for country-chic weddings, group meetings or reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Huntingfield Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing