We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
A piece of history near UMD

Every time my parents come to MD, we visit historic homes. I find it fascinating to learn about the... read more

Reviewed December 22, 2018
kldiehl
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Very nice house museum

A quite impressive house museum with a lot to see. The hours are rather limited, but it is worth... read more

Reviewed July 8, 2017
ZachF247
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
5
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews docent culver maryland history rosalie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2018

Every time my parents come to MD, we visit historic homes. I find it fascinating to learn about the people whose names we see everywhere (ex. Calvert, Carroll).

Despite having been a student at University of Maryland, I never knew this home existed just down the road! My parents and I got there for the last tour at 3:15 and spent the next hour touring the home with our docent Mel. There were unique architectural features, and I enjoyed learning about Rosalie and the progressive role she had as a woman at that time.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank kldiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riversdale_MNCPPC, Front Office Manager at Riversdale House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Thanks so much for making us a part of your adventures with your family! We're always excited when fellow Terps visit the home of the "original" Terp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

A quite impressive house museum with a lot to see. The hours are rather limited, but it is worth the effort to visit. The architecture is impressive and while not all the rooms have much in the way of furnishings, there are some very interesting interior elements as well. The Rosalie Calvert story is quite interesting and the tour did a good job explaining it; well worth the modest admission fee.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank ZachF247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riversdale_MNCPPC, Front Office Manager at Riversdale House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Thanks for the review, Zach! We are glad dropped by to learn about Riversdale's story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Go if you are a Maryland origins and pre-Revolution history buff, a Chesapeake-Tidewater manor house buff, or a fan of Georgian architecture. Do a little homework first (the website is useful) on the Lords Baltimore and the Calvert family. The house was originally an estate of the Stiers family. The family emigrated from Belgium, and the Calverts married into the family. The story is interesting and involves a strong and clever woman (women's history month visit?). The grounds (not extensive but large garden) are free to walk. The house tour (guided) costs a bargain $5.00 but the tour is only offered a few hours each week. Brochure says appointments can be made. Check the hours carefully before you go, and also note the directions on the website because the location is in a residential neighborhood that is not a predictable location for a manor house. Parking on-site. Small gift shop. Several sets of stairs must be negotiated. Some original furniture. The hunt scene wallpaper in the study is unusual and very striking. Guide was knowledgeable, good and patient presenter. The tour was not rushed, in fact, quite leisurely. No restaurant on-site, but fast and slow food available on Rte. 1 about 5 minutes away to the west. The site is 10-15 minutes away from University of Maryland, College Park.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riversdale_MNCPPC, Public Relations Manager at Riversdale House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Thanks so much for the detailed review! We agree - the French block wallpaper is stunning! We'll be sure to pass on your notes to our docents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

I visited the Museum several years ago, since it is only 15 mins. away from my house. It was very important to become aware of my surroundings history. This museum this is an original historical landmark.. This area is not frequented by many people possibly because its not a large town.. This quaint little town has an old train depot that has a flea, vegetable market once a week, it is blossoming with new restaurants, cafes, pubs, galleries. Check out the museum and then visit how it has grown into a beautiful town where the people have maintain the old Colorful Victorian houses with veranda porches. .

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riversdale_MNCPPC, Front Office Manager at Riversdale House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Thanks for stopping by, Charlene! We agree that discovering the history in your own backyard is fascinating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

[For background, I'm a docent at an 1806 historic house in Boston, so I know a lot about this kind of place.]

Riversdale is an 1815 house on lovely grounds -- a good bit less than the builders originally owned but still enough to let the house "breathe" and give visitors a sense of the style at the time. The house has been carefully and beautifully restored. Like many such properties, it had something of a hard life until preservationists decided to roll it back to the way it would have looked at the time it was first built and lived in.

The visitor center where you get tickets has a good deal of interesting background information before you even enter the house. We had an excellent and very knowledgeable docent giving us the house tour (and I'm particular about such things). He managed to provide us with much information without becoming dry and lecture-y about it. He was able to give us historical background about the time the house was built, information about the family that built it, details of the house itself, and also the story of what happened to it between original owners and restoration. I hope all the docents are as skilled as he was!

Historic houses may not be everyone's cup of tea, but this one is excellent. If you're interested check their web site: they only do regular tours Friday and Sunday afternoons, but also "by appointment." A very pleasant way to spend an hour or two.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riversdale_MNCPPC, Guest Relations Manager at Riversdale House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Thanks so much for visiting, Stuart! We're glad to hear our tour met your standards and that you enjoyed some Federal history on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews