We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rising Sun

“Good food!”

Spready Oak Country Cafe
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Rising Sun
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great place to stop for breakfast or lunch on your way to Longwood Gardens! Chicken salad with bacon wrap was great.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rimattheu54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2019

You will NEVER be disappointed when you stop at Spready Oak ! You could blindfold yourself and just put your finger on the menu and guaranteed whatever you ordered it would be wonderful. Just like Mom made. Always fresh. Always reasonable. Maryland Crab soup that is just the way it should be. Chicken salad made fresh every day and so very good. And staff that actually cares about you and your dining experience.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

We stopped here on the way home from the Conowingo Dam. It’s a cozy place that offers a full menu at great prices. I had the mushroom swiss burger and my wife the egg salad sandwich. They were both excellent. Their fries are like no other I’ve seen before, but very tasty. This out of the way cafe is definitely worth stopping, good food, fair prices, friendly staff and very clean.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank AJC110756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

The Spready Oak had been around a long time, has a local following, and wins awards in the Harford Co. media. We have stopped there off and on for many years.

On this trip our waitress greeted us promptly on arrival and took our order in timely fashion, but from then on we had to call across the room to get her attention. My cheese steak sandwich was OK although the beef was a bit overcooked. My wife ordered an egg on an English muffin. The overcooked egg was served in an oddly flat thin shape. Throughout the meal our waitress was seated at the counter with her back turned away from the room. She was intent on her phone when we called for some butter for the dry, unseasoned muffin. We had to call across the room again and interrupt phone time when we wanted to order dessert. We ordered a piece of pie to share and asked for two forks. She quickly handed us our used forks from our plates and departed to fetch the pie. When she served the pie, she did bring extra napkins, presumably to wipe off our used forked.

An odd feature of the Spready Oak is the location of the rest rooms in the back corner of the dining room, close by a table where a customer was eating. I hope he was not too put off by the sounding of flushing toilets!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MR_JR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

This place is right on Route 1 but small, so it's easy to miss. They have a nice menu. The food was good, as was the service. Reasonably priced. We were there for lunch, but we will be back for their breakfast.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spready Oak Country Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spready Oak Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing