We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming respite from all that ails you!”

Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quantico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Quantico B&B and Inns
Baltimore
1 review
“A welcoming respite from all that ails you!”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband and I found this wonderful B&B through neighbors, and we were very pleased with every aspect of our visit, especially the wonderful innkeeper, Cindy. She made us feel so welcome, like it was our home away from home, and since we were the only guests during our visit, we were able to establish a new friendship. The daily breakfast was gourmet, the rooms were beautiful, and the views so serene. It was a very healing experience, and in the process, we found our new favorite getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapzinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

The innkeeper and connected "staff" are genuine people who love to share the history and stories of the town and town folks!!! The atmosphere is very laid back, relaxing and therapeutic! Great place for bird watching - lots of ospreys, laughing gulls, swallows, blue herons, and an occasional bald eagle. There aren't any stores nearby for food shopping, so either bring your owns snacks or drive to the nearest town of Princess Anne (not sure of the mileage)...a few of the rooms have kitchens. Of course, Cindy's breakfast is delightful, delicious, and not to be missed!

My jack russells loved the dog-friendly place and people! I really had a nice stay and left feeling very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogzrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Hotel is beautiful restoration in lovely quiet town, but service was unsatisfactory for a rate of $150 per night. Arrived at 3pm and key in envelope on the door. No towels in the room. Never told how to turn on a.c. - none of guests knew there WAS a.c. - and we could have used it because it was warm and HUMID one night. Innkeeper seldom around. Breakfast scheduled rather late if you wanted to get an early start and go places (9am) and one morning it was 20 minutes late. All in all not very accommodating service which, in spite of the unique hotel, made the stay not worth it. (Owner needs to find a better host - one who is THERE and who is helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The first thing to say is that, if the Whitehaven B & B and the Whitehaven Hotel are one and the same place, then the TripAdvisor map is wrong. The Whitehaven Hotel - which is what this review is about - is on River Road, Whitehaven, right by the ferry over the Wicomico River, and some distance south-west of the location shown on the TripAdvisor map. The postal address, according to the hotel website, is 2685 Whitehaven Road, Whitehaven, MD21856.

Having said that, the three previous reviews all make the Whitehaven B & B sound just like the Whitehaven Hotel, so maybe they are the same place. If they're not, then this review only relates to the Whitehaven Hotel....

.....which is great, and very distinctive. It's an old (19th century) hotel with seven rooms, sensitively restored. All the rooms are decorated in a good approximation of the original style. Try and get one with a balcony, which gives splendid views over the river and surrounding wetlands, and be sure to get up for the sunrise. The two ladies who run the place don't live in, so there are no staff on the premises at night, but they are there in the evening to greet one (unless you're running late,. as we were, in which case the room key is left in an envelope taped to the front door, with a welcoming message and directions to the complimentary bottle of wine on the drawing-room table), and they arrive in the morning to prepare breakfast.

Other nice touches include a couple of pairs of binoculars and a bird i/d book for the use of guests, and a scrapbook and photo album showing the restoration process. On the other side of the river, just by the ferry slip, an osprey was nesting on a pole while we were there.

The breakfast was good and freshly-cooked (although 'gourmet breakfast' might be pushing it a bit), and the innkeepers took great pains to ensure that food allergies were noted and, so far as possible, catered for. The nearest restaurant is the Red Roost - about two miles - which is an Eastern Shore crab shack resounding to the sound of diners walloping crabs with little wooden mallets.

I doubt if it's a hotel for business travellers, but Whitehaven is probably too far off the beaten track for them to be there in the first place. For holidaymakers, or anyone wanting a relaxing weekend, it's ideal.

  • Liked — The decor and the situation
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Absolutely first class experience. Extremely friendly staff and what one would expect from a BB in this quiet hamlet. I arrived with my daughter and wife and we're greeted promptly and shown to our rooms. We were shown where all the amenities were located as well as provided with a book outlining the history of this wonderful BB. Locations of local establishments were also provided. The Inn provides you with bikes and kayaks that you can use at your leisure. Although I didn't have the opportunity to use the bikes they would be a great way to see the hamlet of Whitehaven. The breakfast was first rate and well worth waiting until 9am. I could go on and on but quite frankly experiencing this quiet BB on the river would be highly recommended.

  • Liked — Great room and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — One thing if I had to pick on would be the breakfast time of 9am but really not a biggie in the grand scheme of things
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atkinsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We stayed at the Whitehaven Hotel and really enjoyed the quiet scenic atmosphere. It was lovely to stay right on the river. You could sit on the dock and watch the ferry or take a kayak out that the B&B will let you borrow. The rooms were very nicely furnished and very clean. The innkeeper was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2005

We stayed at the Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast, Whitehaven, MD (which has a post office address of Quantico, MD, although some miles from Quantico). The facility consists of two separate houses, side by side, located on the waterfront of the Wicomico River, and across from the ferry. Whitehaven is a very old (chartered on 1685) and small (less than 100 people) hamlet located on the waterfront leading to the Chesapeake Bay. The houses are furnished with antiques, and the rooms and common areas are clean and comfortably furnished for guests. The proprietess is gracious and attentive to her guests comfort (we even were surprised by a small flask of homemade apricot cordial and cookies upon returning from our dinner).The rooms were furnished with fresh flowers. The breakfast is delicious. Considering everything, the rates are reasonable. If we are in the area again, we would definitely return.One caveat-be sure to print the directions from the website and follow them; Whitehaven is definitely off the beaten path!

Helpful?
2 Thank Toofaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast

Property: Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2685 Whitehaven Road, Quantico, MD 21856-2504
Location: United States > Maryland > Quantico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Quantico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing