We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princess Anne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Sarasota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

What an oasis this place was for us! We were in need of a place that could provide us a place to spend time as a family. With our 2 kids living far away, we wanted to be together in a place where we could relax. We also were dealing with attending a family funeral. Upon entering the front door, we all felt a sense of peace and sanctuary. There were board games, tea and cookies, and TONS of good books. Rooms were motif decorated, each with its own bath. This place is very clean, and offers great bathrooms and lots of quiet. The owner is a cordial, intelligent gal with a cool kitty named Mr. Hobbs. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B. We're so glad we found it!

  • Liked — Motif of rooms with quality furnishings, and cleanliness
  • Disliked — occasional street noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VivieMartinsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
35
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2004

The place is awesome -- romantic and relaxing. My husband and I stayed there for our anniversary. Food was delicious and Elizabeth gave us a brown bag to eat on the road, as we would drive to the beach and explore the rest of the region. We definitely felt welcomed!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2004

Five stars go to Elizabeth and Peter, hosts of Princess Anne's Booklovers B&B, and the townsfolk of Pr. Anne are very fortunate to have them! My husband and I spent a wonderful Valentine's Day weekend, complete with poetry readings of love poems, sonnets, etc. in their Cafe Collette on Sat. night. Peter and Elizabeth are quite a team and she has great culinary gifts (her breakfast crepes cannot be beat) and his woodworking/renovative skills have done wonders for the Alexander home. They also have a cozy sitting/reading room where time almost stands still for quiet reading/work/reflection. If you are looking for a restorative B&B in a quiet, historic town w/little traffic, try the Alexander house and don't forget your books! Gwen Frazier

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2004

Loved the Jane Austen room and reading out on the porch. Elizabeth is a knowledgable and welcoming host. We will definately return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2004

Winding your way to Ocean City, MD and/or the locale? Have an enjoyable stay in Princess Anne at the Alexander House, Booklovers B and B. The inn keepers are so personable; the breakfasts are delicious... the Jane Austen room is beautiful. Treat yourself to a lovely, relaxing evening or two.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2004

Wonderful place, full of charm. The crepes, fantastique!

The town is most historical and peaceful, the room, Langston Huges, different than any BB we have stayed with.

Many books we love so much.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2003

Charming, quaint town... The Booklovers B and B was marvelous. Very upbeat yet peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Mark Twain Room the best, Colette Cafe--colorful, whimsical--great music at night (Jazz and old time music).
Innkeeper Elizabeth was wonderful; fantastic cook--we loved the crepes!


Julian and Samantha

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princess Anne
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salisbury/Fruitland
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
12.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
14.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 30535 Linden Ave, Princess Anne, MD 21853-1131
Location: United States > Maryland > Princess Anne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Princess Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander House Booklovers' Bed & Breakfast is a literary-themed inn located in the quaint historic district of Princess Anne on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. The colorful Queen Anne Victorian features authors' portraits, dramatic colors and whimsical literary details throughout.Each room offers a creative interpretation of a famous author's own room in his or her time. Revel in the romance of Regency England in the Jane Austen Room. Immerse yourself in the jazzy Harlem Renaissance of the Langston Hughes Room; or a 19th-century high seas adventure in the Robert Louis Stevenson Room. Relax with a book from our eclectic library in the Mark Twain Library and Parlor. Partake of a hearty breakfast, afternoon tea or evening liqueur in the charmingly French Cafe Colette. All rooms have private bathrooms. Enjoy a relaxing stroll through the historic district of Princess Anne, teeming with lovingly preserved historic homes from the Colonial, Federal and Victorian eras. Walk to the nearby Teackle Mansion for a tour of one of Maryland's beautiful historic manses, then meander along the water in Manokin River Park. Take a walk down the quaint main street--featuring antique, coffee and gift shops, eateries.Local events include the annual Chesapeake Celtic Festival on the first weekend in October, (see link on local sights page) and the Annual Skipjack Races on Labor Day Weekend (local events link). Olde Princess Anne Days is celebrated in October with home and garden tours, carriage rides, street fair and more. Click on the Calendar of Events link on the Local Sights page for more annual events.Nestled between the beach (Atlantic) and the Bay (Chesapeake), nearby nature attractions include Assateague and Chincoteague (35 minute drive), where you can share the pristine, natural seashore with wild ponies. Or for some really wild night life, there's always Ocean City, a 30 minute drive away. Within minutes of various wildlife sanctuaries, rivers, waterways and marshes, where hundreds of bird species can be observed. Kayak and canoe rentals are available on the Pocomoke River or the Tangier Sound (opening to the Bay). A ferry boat ride away are Smith Island and Tangier Islands, where Colonial English/Cornish dialects are still spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing