We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican food in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tolteca

La Tolteca
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Sal will welcome you when you go to this cozy place...his food is terrific. When you order fajitas, you don't get the shaved little pieces of meat--you get hunks of juicy quality steak or chicken and nice fat shrimp. Don't miss the Asadita for an appetizer--tender marinated steak-delicious. His sangria is great and the desserts...ooooh...save room!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twinkles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I have probably eaten here 100 times. The food is consistently good, the service is fast and friendly, and the place is very comfortable. We love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
637 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Excellent service and genuinely delicious Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Was thrilled to spend my birthday and have mole'. It was very close to that of my mother-in-law's and she has a restaurant in Acapulco. The staff is extremely friendly and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melaney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, MD
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Food In Calvert County!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We love this place. The prices are good, but the food is wonderful. We've been several times & when we feel like eating Mexican we always visit La Tolteca. Everything we've eaten there has been delicious and there has never been much of a wait. I guess its a little off the beaten path, but what a special place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank aquadoc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place has very good authentic Mexican food. It's priced very reasonable the service is great and very friendly. We eat here every week because of convenience, they're fast and not expensive. Best of all the food is great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tolteca also viewed

Prince Frederick, Calvert County
Prince Frederick, Calvert County
 
Prince Frederick, Calvert County
Prince Frederick, Calvert County
 

Been to La Tolteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing