We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good first visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nantucket's Reef

Nantucket's Reef
Reserve with OpenTable
Nantucket's Reef is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Potomac
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Went on a weekday early dinner with family. Decor was nautical as expected, clean and contemporary. We were greeted immediately and shown to our table. Customers continued to arrive, impressive for a weekday. We chose the fried oysters and clams combo, and the crab cake sandwich. Sides were good. They had a Main Lobster and corn on the cob special which we did not try, but it looked great at another table. Service good, prices a bit high. Will return to check out more of their menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tranquility2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    62
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A new place, but so far impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ive been to dinner here twice now, and both times ive been very pleased. Service is very good and the clam chowder is outstanding. Mussles are probably the best ive had. We have been meaning to go for brunch but havent had the chance yet, because they have a very reasonable specials menu with some unlimited drink options. Definitely will continue to go here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColonelPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm it up....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Beer and wine specials are nice..oysters fresh and tasty.. corn muffins.. boring...and an up charge for bread is ridiculous... mahi mahi grilled and very good..sides were nice. Felt a little rushed even though the place was half empty..could be a bit warmer in the dining room...we will try it again to see if they found the thermostat.

.

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A 'foodie' and a very picky eater were both pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our first visit to Nantucket's Reef and it won't be our last. We were there for Valentines Day and were really impressed. We were seated as soon as we arrived (we had reservations) by a very polite young lady. Our server, Carlos, came over and immediately introduced himself and told us about the special menu that they had for the night. My fellow is a 'foodie' and very hard to impress, I am a very picky eater and therefore also very hard to impress. We started with crab dip and mixed drinks. Both came out promptly and both were tasty. Next I had the Lobster Imperial while my fellow opted for the "Volcano" surf and turf. Both dishes were cooked perfectly, they were appealing to the eye and more importantly they both tasted wonderful. They were busy, but we never felt rushed. The corn muffins that they served were also delicious. The food, the atmosphere, and the service was so wonderful that this will be a new 'go to' spot for us!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikalaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Valentine's dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We went there forValentine's dinner. I think they need to train the waiters more, they are friendly but did not get water at first. I had to ask for it, same with bread. Then we needed a wine chiller had to wait awhile (they were cleaning it). The menu had out of ten entries five had asparagus and they ran out of asparragus by 8:30 pm. Rice was in eight of the entries and again ran out by 9:00 pm. I think the cooking staff was not prepared to handle the number of clients on Valentine's day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GloriaGBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantucket's Reef also viewed

 

Been to Nantucket's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing