We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lock 72

Lock 72
Reserve with OpenTable
Lock 72 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 54 Restaurants in Potomac
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Seoul
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a charming restaurant, conveniently located in Potomac. The food is well-prepared. Their salmon salad is highly recommended. The salmon is neither overcooked and dry nor undercooked and clammy. It is done just right. The chef manages to keep it slightly crispy on the outside while the inside remains juicy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downtown in Potomac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Been a long time since a really good restaurant has opened in Potomac . There are the old stand-bys that need to burned down or the New Tavern at River Falls that makes you think a place this nice and comfortable, with a beautiful bar area and a separate dining room was completely moved from downtown Bethesda. The menu has a little something for everyone, from the Half Roasted Chicken with the best whiskey sauce and homemade Mac and Cheese to the great lump crab cakes or the Fresh Fish tacos. A good assortment of appetizers and salads to get you ready for one of the best Gourmet Hamburgers in the county, or the simple grilled filet of Salmon, done just the way you like it. If you don't have a reservation grab a couple bar stools and enjoy a drink and dinner while doing my favorite past time, people watching. Make sure you save room for one of the special dessert, even if you to split it four ways. Come early Monday night for the Prime Rib Special with real mashed potatoes, before it sells out. You will think you at the Prime Rib on
K St., except it's half the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Dining Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Tavern at River Falls is a recently new addition to the Potomac Village scene, but a welcome one. Although tight on space, it more than makes up for it in a -- though not long -- excellent menu served in a friendly manner,.

We visited a couple of nights ago as a means of getting out of the house on a cold day and were greeted warmly and seated in the bar area, which from past experience we've found to be a bit more lively than the dining room. Service was attentive and as fast as we wanted, though we did want to linger of a drink before ordering. To that purpose we chose the Stowell Cellars Chardonnay (Monterey County, CA) and it was good enough to put into our list for the next time we restock our cabinet at home.

Dinners were simple but good. My wife had the Athenian Salad but asked for the addition of shrimp on top. Since this is an offshoot of River Falls delicatessen, we know they always have the most fresh seafood. This meal was excellent.

My choice was the Shrimp, Smoked Andoille Sausage and Okra Gumbo and "wow" what a great choice for a cold winter dinner. Spicy (but not too) and very flavorful, this was an excellent winter treat.

All in all, we've found this to be one of two great hangouts in the Potomac, Village area and would recommend it to anyone visiting town. I would make reservations, as the seating capacity is not huge.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The food at the Tavern is above average, but in comparison with other restaurants in the Potomac / Bethesda area who charge the same price, I feel that you can definitely get more bang for your buck elsewhere.
The Tavern appears as though they would like to be a casual bar in the one area. However, even if your group is large and your tab is high, you can be chased away from the tables unless you are ordering from the dinner menu. This is very unfortunate because it discourages casual corporate get togethers. Other restaurants are very happy to accommodate... and we are happy to move our business there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tykymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“An enjoyable dinner experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went to the Tavern at River Falls for dinner on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was busy, but not full. The decor is twenty first century rustic, subdued but classy; I thought they did a great job of it and I felt quite comfortable. The menu is varied but seems to emphasize seafood, and crab in particular. The main crab cakes platter I had was excellent, as were the fries and the Cesar salad. Service was efficient but impersonal. Overall, I think this is an excellent addition to the neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lock 72 also viewed

 

Been to Lock 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing