We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms”
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolger Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small rooms”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location of this facility is amazing but the rooms are way too small for one adult person. The ceiling fan didn't work along with the air vent being closest to the door and not the bed. Hot, humid night at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
79
30
28
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a wonderful experience here at the Bolger Center. stayed here overnight to attended a wedding.The buffet at the Osgood Restaurant was spectacular and the late night pizza order from Pony Express was good!!! Because of the little wait for the pizza at Pony express the bartender had the pizza delivered to the room, so I didn't have to wait long. This is a wonderful wedding location and weekend get away. From check in to check out I was very pleased with the level of hospitality from everyone. I will be visiting again soon! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Demareo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience attending the wedding at the Bolger Center. It is nice to know that you found the Osgood buffet spectacular, liked the pizza from Pony Express and were very pleased with the level of hospitality from everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at the Bolger Center while visiting Washington, DC with my son, and it was an excellent choice. Not only is it less than 30-minutes from DC, but it is in a secluded area away from heavy traffic. And, a mall is just 3 miles away. The treatment by the staff was outstanding, and the room was nice. No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank dford80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are happy to learn that you liked our location and found our staff outstanding and room nice. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next time you travel to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Bolger Center to visit Washington. This is a great hotel to stay in. They have an amazing staff that will go above and beyond to ensure you have a great stay with them. They have very comfortable rooms. As well, the food they serve at Osgood and Pony Express is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glady1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are happy to learn that you had an excellent stay and found our staff amazing, rooms comfortable and food delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is mediocre. It's my first experience with a Dolce Hotel and I don't care to try another. The best thing that I can say about this hotel is that the elevator in building E is very fast and efficient.

The single rooms are very small. There is not even room for a luggage rack, thus no place to unpack your suitcase except the bed. If you prefer to leave your clothes in your suitcase, as I do, then you have put it on the floor, yes, there is just enough room for a 20-inch roller bag to lay on the floor.

The nice bed linens and the new bathroom floor seem to be evidence that they have tried to spruce up this place. However, the institutional, unadorned walls, tired, dinged up furniture from the 90's and basic character of the place cannot be covered up with some nice sheets. The apparently new, but cheap rug did not help the effect.

My room was like walking into a steam room when I arrive. Turning down the thermostat cooled it to about 71, but did not alleviate the humidity. Thank goodness for the WONDERFUL ceiling fan. So I take it back the BEST thing about this hotel is the ceiling fan in the room. It has a switch (which broke while I was there) to control the speed. There is, also a dimmer switch for the fan light! A+ for the ceiling fan!! A+ for the maintenance man that showed up within minutes to fix the switch!!

The food at Osgood's reminds me of the food that you can get in today's college dining halls. It is good, but nothing special and served cafeteria style.

I only stayed here because my company has a meeting there annually. I am not looking forward to having to stay there again, the next time I am picked to attend the meeting.

Room Tip: In building E ask for a room on the top floor at the end. My colleague complained about the noise in his room and mine was quiet. However, it was quite a hike from the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations and for all the inconveniences during your stay. We hope to have another chance to provide you a better experience.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The grounds were beautiful and the conference center was very nice! We stayed in a standard room in the Osgood building and the room was very small it reminded me of a dorm room. Other than the size of the room the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade from standard room to something bigger do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are happy to learn that you liked our grounds and found the bed very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a great place to hold a conference since you are far away from town. It's not ideal if you want to go out to see Washington DC or even to a store, unless you go after 5pm or on weekends. Bolger Center has a free shuttle that runs in the evenings to a shopping mall or to the closest Metro station (Bethesda on the Red Line). However, there is a bus that comes right to the check in building several times a day. Bus 42 will come at about 10:35 am. The first one will take you to the Montgomery Mall, and a minute later a second Bus 42 will come and take you to White Flint, which is another Metro station on the Red Line. If you go to the Montgomery Mall, there are two buses which will take you to Bethesda Station: Bus 47 or Bus J2. Leaving at 10:35 will get you to DC by noon. Take the Red Line back to Bethesda and be there by 5:30 and get the Bolger Center shuttle back to the hotel for free.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the elevators as possible. Ours was the first room and we heard the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. It is nice to learn that you recognize our hotel a great place to hold a conference. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next conference or personal trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potomac
2.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
413 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
4.2 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#6 of 15 in Rockville
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Property: Bolger Center
Address: 9600 Newbridge Dr, Potomac, MD 20854-4422
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing