We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ service during snowstorm!”
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolger Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Potomac
1 review
“A+ service during snowstorm!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a business conference Feb 10-13, 2014 during a major snowstorm in Washington, DC (13+ inches). The property did not miss a beat! Walkways and parking lots were cleared immediately and it was very safe to get between buildings. The food on property was excellent. Wonderfuly chocies at the buffet and the desserts were to die for! Even in the snowstorm, there was no interruption of service. Everyone was so accomodating. We had numerous people who had to stay extra days due to flight cancellations and The Bolger Center made sure that they had accomodations and took the stress out of the situation. The meeting facilities were first class. We had 250 in town for a conference. The refreshment centers in the meeting areas were terrific. They kept us well-fed! I would highly recommend this location for meetings.

Note: I had a suite which was wonderfuly. Many of my other teammates had the regular rooms which they indicated were quite small. (I understand that this facility used to be a convent). But all the rooms were well-appointed and very clean. My team was happy with the accomodations since they spent very little time in the rooms since we had meetings all day and events at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are very glad to learn that you had a five-star experience. It is great to read that our team went above and beyond to make sure your stay and conference here went smoothly during the big snow storm. We are also glad to know that your liked the room, refreshments and the varieties of the buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next meeting or personal trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
79
30
28
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My company had its 3 day all-HR meeting here in February 2014. There were approximately 300 people, and the Bolger Center was a fabulous place to stay. Great food, yummy snacks throughout the day. Staff was friendly, nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Misha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. It is very nice to learn that you had a great conference at Bolger Center. We are very happy to know you found Bolger Center a fabulous place to stay and our staff friendly, nice and accommodating and liked our food and snacks. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our family needed to find a place near Potomac on short notice. Because it was not the busy season, this turned out to be a good choice with lots of room. Staff could not have been nicer. It's a very large compound and meeting venue with extensive grounds, away from noise. It is convenient but not directly on public transportation, so car is necessary. Based on our experience would recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you and your family had a nice stay and liked our grounds and staff. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next time you need a place in Potomac.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

this is a horrible lodging place - old, SMALL, run-down, not near anything else (the workout room). NOT ENOUGH power outlets. Bed very uncomfortable. Lighting bad. VERY SMALL - can't even turn around. JUST SAY NO

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our hotel. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. The Bolger Center offers four types of guest rooms. We hope to welcome you back so you may experience an alternative guest room offering.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was my second stay at the Bolger Center. While it's not a glitsey hotel (was actually a former monestary and currently the USPS training center) and is a little on the odd side for a hotel, but I love to stay here. The building is old but the grounds are beautiful, the employees super nice and the room (I always make sure to get a renovated room) is clean and comfortable. The standard room is not huge, but is perfect when i'm traveling here solo and has been fine with my husband. Best part of staying here is the swimming pool--25 yards (though the water is a tad on the warm side) and the big gym. Another plus is the breakfast. The location is perfect--close to the metro, and it's really peaceful at the hotel and the price is a great value for the DC area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. It is great to read that you had a nice second stay at the Bolger Center. We are very glad to learn that you found our staff super nice and room clean and comfortable. We are also happy to know you enjoyed spending time in our fitness center and swimming pool and liked our breakfast and location. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next meeting or personal trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

There are no "other" hotels in Potomac. This one is fun. Small rooms, put a wall around a double bed, but it was clean, had everything I needed. Fitness center a bit rough, but you can walk a treadmill etc. The grounds are beautiful and there are trails all over Only ate a breakfast there, and it was cafeteria style in a delightful dining room. Someone told me it was once a convent, and now it seems to be a Post Office Training Center. The bar has good food, and lots of tv's. Good coffee in the room!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycec785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are glad to learn that you liked our grounds, Osgood dining room, the food in the Bar and coffee in the room. We look forward to your return if travel brings you to this area!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at the Bolger Center for business in December.
Front desk staff greets you and treats you very good, quick check in process. The front desk is very helpful, they will give you a brief history on the center, as well as a handout with additional information. Very interesting to learn about Bolger Center.
Rooms: They are small, but they have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The beds are amazing and they are lucky that my suitcases were full, or they might have been missing pillows. They were super comfortable.
Meeting rooms: Very nice, and the nourishment hubs were well stocked and contained an array of different foods to snack on.
Dining hall and Pony Express Bar - both have excellent service and the food is amazing. So many selections.
Grounds are beautiful, they have a nice walking/running path out back.
I would highly recommend this place, its a true gem!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimIN4oneMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are so glad to learn that you had a great stay with us. We are happy to know you liked our grounds, the bed and pillows, food and snacks in the nourishment hub and food and service in our dining room and Pony Express Bar. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potomac
2.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
413 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
4.2 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#6 of 15 in Rockville
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Property: Bolger Center
Address: 9600 Newbridge Dr, Potomac, MD 20854-4422
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing