We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“small, plain, quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bolger Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Purdue-Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“small, plain, quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for a two day conference, where obviously the point is to work, not enjoy time off. The rooms are quite small (10 x 12?) as are the bathrooms. Kind of like some European hotels. No special amenities. Same with the Stained Glass Hall (obviously a former chapel) where we held our workshops. I will say that the Internet wifi was quite good. Breakfasts were plentiful if plain, but with made-to-order omelets. And grits. One great feature was a plethora of umbrellas left the doors as it rained the entire time we were there. There was a very loud band (old guys playing Doors) in the bar, which seemed out of place for this quiet retreat (but since it's a separate building from the sleeping quarters, no harm).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. It is nice to learn that you liked the varieties of our breakfast buffet and complimentary WIFI. The live band was for a special event – a fundraising for Breast Cancer Charities of America. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    88
    55
    18
    18
See reviews for
76
28
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bolger Center in Potomac, Maryland. What a pleasant stay I had! I normally stay in the District. At the Bolger Center with its serene grounds I had the opportunity for reflective calm between meetings. Yet, I was never isolated and transportation to and from the District and the airport was excellent.

The staff was very pleasant and the room was exceptionally clean. The window opened, a true miracle! I recomment the center to anyone holding a group meeting in the DC metro area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Bolger Center and sharing your experience with us. We are very glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed a quiet and calm time between your meetings. It is nice to know you liked our ground and found the room exceptionally clean and staff pleasant. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Came to DC for the first time in 20 years. Took the metro, and was picked up by relatives who'd never thought of the place. Fabulous grounds, great beds,please staff. GREAT BARGAIN.
Found it on Tingo. Thank you TINGO!
I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a suite for a fabulous weekend rate! Thank you TINGO
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyinChicago_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and recommending us. It is great to learn that you liked our grounds and beds and found our staff pleasant and helpful. We look forward to your return if travel brings you to this area!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just returned from a social event held at the Bolger Center and were a bit disappointed. Our party was spread out throughout the facility and not near each other. We had a room on the first floor, which is more like a basement, and seemed a bit dated. Room was large enough, but then bathroom was tiny, with no counter space for all our stuff.
The event was also disappointing. Bar staff poured beers into tiny glasses and wasted most of the rest of the beer. Melted ice watered down mixed drinks. At the actual event, we could not get coffee because we were out in the hall at the moment they came by and asked. Then never checked backed again.
I'm sure this was an expensive event, and don't feel their service was up to the quality expected.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank carenb_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. We apologize that our staff services did not meet your expectation. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from my third conference at the Bolger Center. Once again, the atmosphere, hospitality and professionalism of the staff and fantastic food continue to impress. Beautiful, well-maintained grounds, free (!) parking and comfortable meeting sites make this a first class place to hold business conferences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysAnchoredL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and recommending us. It is great to hear from a loyal customer. We’re glad to learn that you found the staff friendly and professional and liked our food and grounds. We look forward to your return for your next conference or your personal trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed here 5 or 6 times and appreciate what a great value it is a little more each time. The Hotel/Conference center is situated on a nice park-like setting with a 1.5 mile walking trail around the grounds and through the neighboring woods. Easy parking, easy access to Routes 270 and 495. Shopping nearby. Buffet style food at dinner is very good and the breakfast with omelett station, fresh fruit, made to order waffles, real home made oatmeal and some very cool egg dishes, free coffee and juices is off the charts excellent and worth way more than the $12. Rooms are clean, efficiently laid out. I upgraded to a suite which was a modest increase in cost and really affordable - sitting room with couch, smallish desk, wet bar, frig. Staff is extremely friendly and welcoming - everyone from the front desk to the bartenders to the staff in the dining hall and the valet and maintenance. 10 minutes or so from the closest Metro stop and then about 35 mins from that stop to DC on the Metro.

Not 5 stars because it is not the Ritz but if you are looking for a clean, convenient location, nice grounds, free parking, good food and friendly staff for an affordable price can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if avaialble - not a big cost increase if available when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolgerTeam, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for being a Bolger loyal customer and taking time to review your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay and found the hotel clean and location convenient for you. We are also very glad to know that you liked the buffet dinner and the varieties at the breakfast and found the rooms clean and staff friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to this area.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potomac
4.3 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#4 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Property: Bolger Center
Address: 9600 Newbridge Dr, Potomac, MD 20854-4422
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing