We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for a conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolger Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great venue for a conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in January to attend a conference. It's a great venue for a conference, free WiFi throughout, good food and amazing snacks in the breakout area. The rooms are comfortable and functional, and at a conference you're unlikely to be spending much time in them. The property is some distance from the Metro, so if you're without your own transport you're going to rely on the shuttle bus (which runs in the evenings) or paying for taxis. I'm not sure I'd stay here as a leisure traveller, but it's a good venue for a conference.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatboytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VG0RD0N, Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the services and food at our hotel. Also, we’re glad you like the rooms. We hope you will come back and stay with us again when you attend conference here.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    94
    57
    19
    19
See reviews for
78
29
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bolger Hotel and Conference Center for a several days in December 2012. I picked the hotel, because it located near family, we were visiting. I paid $96 per night plus taxes and fees. The hotel is secluded and consists of six or seven separate buildings on spacious, nicely landscaped grounds with free parking. The staff was good at check-in and throughout my stay. The room was small but was clean and smelled fresh. The furniture was nice and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and in good shape. The free wireless Internet access worked fine. I did not hear much noise from other rooms, however, the hotel was pretty empty.

The free breakfast was ok. They had eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, bagels, toast, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. They did not have any jelly for the toast, which I and another guest asked about.

The only negative was they were doing renovation in our building and the smell of the paint downstairs was strong. We were offered a room in another building, but we stayed because we could not smell anything on our floor.

Overall, I had a good stay and would stay there again. The hotel was above average, and has free parking, free internet, a free breakfast, and the price was ok for the DC area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Happy New Year and thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel! It is great to hear that you and your wife had a pleasant stay with us! We hope you will come back and visit us after our renovation!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed there for 2 weeks in December for training. Well maintained and clean. Beautiful property. The gym is small but very sufficient and nice. Also great speedy internet access all over the facility.

Room is on the small-ish side and feels like dorm room. Food served in the cafetaria is decent but could have some improvements.

The location is quite far from the near "attractions" (e.g. montgomery mall and Bethesda). There is shuttle service but quite limited in terms of frequency. You can call a cab but (i) can be slow to come and (ii) can be unpredictable in terms of reliability. Not recommended for traveller who actually wants to come and visit Washington DC as it would be too far from DC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eas_Bandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Happy New Year to you and thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel! I’m glad you had a positive experience with our facilities. And thank you for sharing the beautiful photos of the property. We hope you will come back and visit us when you come to this area again.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Bolger Center is the USPS conference facility, but open to the public and run by Dolce Hotels. The rooms in the main accommodation buildings are generally on the small side, though there are some very nice suites. The Osgood building, which is a former convent, are larger. For this stay I was in a very large one bedroom suite in the Osgood building. The package rate includes three meals a day in the dining room, which is buffet style with a good selection of quality food. If the weather is good, the campus is a beautiful place to walk or jog around. For R&R, there is a pub in the main accommodation wing. I don't think I would stay here on vacation or even general business travel (it is out in the country), but for business meetings or a small conference it is a great option.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the Osgood building. In addition to being larger, this is where the main restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel! It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This accommodation is in a very attractive and affluent area of Washington. The hotel grounds are stunning all the trees and plants have identity labels.
The room had two large double beds with a seperate area with a sofa and desk, flat screen tv in living area and bedroom.The bathroom was nicely finished with large soft towels and decent toiletries. The view from our window was of a natural wooded area.
A car is essential at this property. Just a short drive approximately 25 minutes to the centre of the city.
The location is a training facility but the conference areas are away from the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We also offer complimentary shuttle service to Bethesda Metro and Montgomery Mall. We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Except for new mattresses and flat screen tv's, these rooms are essentially glorified dorm rooms. The property is made for corporate retreats and the rooms look it. The property is beautiful, but the rooms are modestly furnished with a dim feeling to the place. We stayed on October 13 and there was no heat for the entire property (yes, it was chilly). The room was not properly cleaned. The people working there were nice - but you can do MUCH better somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Bolger Center. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve. I am sorry that we did not provide you with the expected room type. We would like to assure you that we take your feedback very seriously to improve upon our standards. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We love staying here the location is just a short drive from DC the rooms are comfortable
And clean the property is gorgeous
The food in both the restaurant and pony express bar and grill is outstanding

Room Tip: The double rooms and suites are much bigger than single rooms If you are planning on sightseeing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanQ598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and liked the food and the guestroom! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potomac
4.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
2.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.2 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#6 of 15 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Property: Bolger Center
Address: 9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854
Location: United States > Maryland > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing