We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, Great Food”
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolger Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful setting, Great Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This location was primarily a Federal Government training Center, but has taken on a whole new look. They are now becoming a world class establishment, available to anyone. Incredible food, friendly staff and a great location just 20 minutes from DC. Federal, State or just personal vacation... this is a great spot to visit for your dollar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is great to hear that you had a first class stay and enjoyed our food! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
79
30
28
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place may be less expensive but don't be fooled. You are near nothing.
They offer a shuttle service that is at ridiculous times and runs so rarely that its useless, instead you have to resort to cabs and the metro rail.
Our bed had bed bugs and we were eaten alive. The bed was very uncomfortable and you could hear a pin drop in the neighboring rooms

Stay well away!

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billzy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Bolger Center. We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve. The Bolger Center is located in the heart of Potomac, Maryland. We offer complimentary shuttle service to Bethesda Metro and Montgomery Mall. Clearly, we had a breakdown in communication among our staff, causing interruption in the shuttle service. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience next time.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good hotel, kind of old and old furniture. Great gym and outdoor spaces. Good restaurant and grill on premises. Location is far and you will need your own transportation. Not close to metro or restaurants.

Room Tip: Don´t get the smallest rooms, they are the size of a closet. Try to upgrade to a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Bolger Center. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve. We offer complimentary shuttle service to Bethesda Metro and Montgomery Mall. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better experience in the near future.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have a relative at Manor Care. The Bolger Center is close and reasonably priced. The rooms are fine with good wireless and wired internet connections, and a business center. The setting is very pleasant. There is a very nice patio area for miler weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Manor Care again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My company had a 3 day meeting at Bolger center in Washington DC. although the room was on the samll side, it was adequately and comfortably furnished. ( there are larger rooms, as i staayed in the same center but the company chose these rooms for us)>
The conference rooms are very comfortable, the cahir are ergonomic one 9which is impressiveA), temperature just right. the meeting snacks and beverages is just fantastic, big choicees with emphasis on healthy and high quality stuff. the choices are just impressive 9from bowls of raspberries and Blackberries to a superb egg salad, etc..)
The buffet style food is really fantastic with teh possibilities of seconds and thirds..The quality and quantity is rathere impressive, gourmet food for large number of people is difficult to produce, but the Kitchen at Bolger Center succeeds admirable every night (during this stay and last years).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel! It is great to hear that you had enjoyed our delicious buffet offerings! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, MD
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I just returned from a HS reunion (won't tell you which year, but let's just say we're all leaning toward the "mature" end of the spectrum.) The attendees stayed at the Bolger Center for the Friday and Saturday events, and it was a thoroughly pleasurable experience. Many of us are from the DC area, and never knew about this place previously, but we have all been raving about the wonderful experience. The food at the Pony Express and Osgood Restaurant was delicious and varied -- with numerous choices for both the indulgent and healthier palates among our group. The rooms were tastefully appointed with quite comfortable beds and furnishings, and very clean. And the windows opened, so we could enjoy the lovely fall temperatures! The walking trails were quite wonderful as well. (Didn't get a chance to check out the fitness center or pool on this visit, due to many reunion festivities.)

But best of all, was the welcoming and attentive staff, who were always ready with helpful suggestions and assistance. One small example which speaks volumes. In addition to our reunion group, there was also a fundraising event and a wedding going on. When I checked in, the gentleman at the front desk told me the normal parking lot #3 was full, and directed me to park in Lot #4 and then walk over to my hotel building. To my surprise, he then walked me outside the front entrance of his building to point out exactly where I needed to park and walk to get to my room. I have travelled 100% for over 20 years for my job, and I have NEVER experienced this level of care. All too often, I experience front-desk staff who mumble information (routine to them) in a rapid and robotic manner, leaving guests overwhelmed and confused. I truly felt welcomed as a GUEST at this conference center and I definitely plan to return again soon. I highly recommend you check out this hidden gem!

Room Tip: My room (#332) looked out over some trees which was quite lovely, and provided additional privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel! It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We’re very glad to know you enjoyed our food, guestroom, and the trail! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend the weekend visiting the Washington D.C. metro area and after reviewing several lodging options we booked a suite at the Bolger Center, Potomac Maryland. We arrived in the evening and were warmly greeted by the hotel receptionist. Our suite was located in the Osgood Building on the third floor. Upon entering our suite we immediately noticed how nicely furnished the living room was with the basic conveniences (refrigerator, microwave, bar sink), a flat screen TV and a comfortable couch. We then entered the sleeping area which was equally comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated. We had breakfast the following morning in the Osgood restaurant and found a wonderful variety of fruits, cheeses, meats and an omelet bar. The coffee was delicious and the overall atmosphere was relaxing. The only downside to our otherwise wonderful experience was the bed. My wife and I both woke up stiff from sleeping on an extremely hard mattress.

Room Tip: 3rd floor suites are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGordon9600, Director of Sales at Bolger Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our food! We hope you will come back and visit us soon and we will make our effort to make your next stay comfortable!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potomac
2.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
413 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
4.2 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#6 of 15 in Rockville
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
5.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Property: Bolger Center
Address: 9600 Newbridge Dr, Potomac, MD 20854-4422
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing