We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange”
Review of Bolger Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolger Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here one night for a wedding recently and were disappointed with the accommodations. The room was very warm, and never got below 75 degrees.
It was a clean room, but very basic. Shower curtain seemed a little dirty.

Most of the people that we encountered that worked there were very nice. We only had an issue with the free shuttle that supposedly runs on a schedule between the Bethesda Metro stop, the mall , and the hotel. We verified more than once that we didn't have to arrange a time for the shuttle to pick us up, that it runs on a schedule, and would arrive per that schedule. Well, that didn't happen. We were stuck for over an hour waiting for the driver, who simply skipped the 130 pick up time. His excuse when he finally showed up was that there was miscommunication and he had to get gas. Excuse me? He just simply skipped the first run.We talked to the front desk 3 different times before he showed up, once they said he left 15 minutes ago, another said he left 5 minutes ago, and then they actually said, Oh he's right here! It was ridiculous. He was pleasant after the fact, but I wouldn't call the shuttle reliable or timely. He half heartedly offered us free food (?) at the mall, to which we said no thank you we just need to get to the hotel.

It does give the appearance of a dorm. The hallways are clean and fine however. It's not a terrible place, just not good for anyone looking for a cheap alternative for a DC vacation or sightseeing. You're in the middle of nowhere. We ran to the first shuttle out of there the next morning.

We did have some good food at the little pub though. Breakfast the next morning at Osgood was also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBGart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VKhokhar, General Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment. Clearly, we had a breakdown in communication among our staff, causing interruption and delay in the shuttle pick up for which, we sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our team and will ensure that proper communication and training is in place to avoid such incident in the future. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. We truly hope to have an opportunity to provide you a better experience during your next visit.

Sincerely,
VKhokhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 335 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

The place is great for a company meeting or such, but for a family or a business trip, this isn't the place. It's somewhat old rooms are far apart and the whole place has the look and feel of a religious retreat center - not that this is a bad thing, I'm just saying that's the feeling you get ...
The rooms are spacious but the beds uncomfortable - probably worn out. I woke up with a wicked back ache...
Also - the price was high yet did not include breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the reception... otherwise you'll have to walk for several minutes and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VKhokhar, General Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback as it helps us grow on regular basis. I am sorry to hear that your experience at the Bolger center did not meet your expectations. I would also like to apologize for the lack of sleeping comfort. We will continue to focus on adding value to your experience through improvement of our products and services.

Best regards,
VKhokhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Bolger Conference Center located in scenic Potomic, Maryland provides an unusual hotel experience. Situated on a large campus with hiking and jogging trails, a postal museum, and several buildings, it really doesn't feel like a typical hotel at all. It is mainly used as a corporate training and conference center, but is also a great place to stay when just traveling for business or pleasure. The staff is gracious and helpful, food is very good, and being able to walk all over its park like grounds is very enjoyable. Room rates are quite reasonable for the DC area. Different buildings are different ages, so some rooms are more modern in furnishing and decor than others. There is ample parking and two restaurants on site, although they are not always open. It is close to shopping areas and easily reached from major highways. The facility has a fascinating history, having been a private estate, convent, school and US Postal training facility. There is a pool and fitness room. We were there for a multi day, weekend social event and very much enjoyed our entire stay.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite!! Spacious, comfortable, not too expensive and includes a large living area, two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VKhokhar, General Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments and also for giving us an opportunity to serve you. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,
VKhokhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I spent a week here for a corporate training class. Overall, very good experience except for the room. The campus is beautiful, with lots of grass, trees, trails in a residential area. It is about 25-30 minutes from Reagan airport. The meeting rooms we used were very good as well.

Highs and lows:

Highs: Overall experience and the food. Being in a class, we ate all meals on site. (there is nothing close by either). They provide nutrition hubs for drinks and snacks at breaks. Everything provided was really good. There were healthy choices like fruit, berries, granola bars, dried fruit. Lunch and dinner were way beyond expectations. The food was served in a cafeteria kind of setting. The food was varied, had lots of choices for vegetarians to meat lovers, and it was all well prepared, not over cooked or anything. There was always a good salad bar, 2 soups, and several main courses plus good desserts. Soft drinks and coffee provided, wine and beer available for extra.

Lows: My room. I was in a "single" and it was ridiculously small. There was a bed with about a foot of clearance on the sides and foot of the bed. That was the whole room except for the entry way. The bathroom was super small and hard to even get to the toilet. There was not even space for my roller bag. I had to step over it all week in my entry. Definitely upgrade to a standard I believe it is called, which is larger. I have stayed in lots of European hotels that are small, but this room was worse.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a single room, but get a bigger room like a standard. Some of my colleagues did this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadridClydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I first discovered the Bolger Center during an online search in June 2011. I stumbled across the web page and immediately was attracted by the grounds. I reserved a room for July and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I decided to come again this January as a mini-vacation to unwind and relax. Again, I was very pleased with the service and room. I especially want to recognize the lifeguard who was very helpful to my boyfriend and I. He was very friendly and polite while we were at the pool, offering activities and answering our questions about the fitness center. I plan on making the Bolger Center my personal getaway as I am never disappointed when I come.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sapphireangeljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VKhokhar, General Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing us as your preferred getaway.

Best regards,
VKhokhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Bolger Center is an excellent conference center and hotel. The staff is very friendly, the conference rooms are large and well supported, and the buffet restaurant, when open, is superb. Yes, the rooms are small. Yes, the restaurant is not open on weekends for dinner. Yes, it is like being on a cruise ship. Yes, the pool was being used by a swim team when I was there. Yet I was there for a training session, I was only in my room to sleep, and when I went to the pool to swim, they gladly opened up a lane for me. What could be more fun than doing laps when a swim team of ten year olds is in the building. They didn't bother me and thought it was cool that an old guy was still swimming. The Pony Express lounge is a great place to hang out after the meeting and has pool tables, darts and a table shuffleboard. Prices are a little rich for a business budget, yet the service was always helpful and friendly. I have to reinforce the support of the conference service staff -- the break area was always well stocked with healthy and some not-so healthy goodies, and again, the staff was very helpful. We are looking for an offsite location for our longer training programs in DC and Bolger has moved to the top of our list.

Room Tip: I think the Osgood Building has the best rooms. the numbered buildings are dormitories. If you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanksmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VKhokhar, General Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback as it helps us grow on regular basis. We will continue to focus on adding value to your experience through enhancement of our service standards and look forward to hosting your future meetings.

Best regards,
VKhokhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

If I can help someone else not to have to endure this terrible and depressing place, maybe my miserable stay would be worthwhile. This is not a hotel, more of a motel. At best, it feels like a public school building that is run-down. It used to be used for postal employees as a training center and it has not been redone and it is being advertised as if it has. It is not the same level as an Embassy Suites or standard Holiday Inn and it provides very few hotel services. It is a cinderblock, jail like complex that feels most like a cheap dorm sort of living or like living on the grounds of a very old hospital. The grounds are beautiful, but the rooms are the smallest, oldest and sub-par rooms I have ever stayed in. If you expect a dorm sort of living, maybe this might be okay, but our room was called a suite. Tiny, tiny rooms, cheap, very low ceilings and depressing cinder block halls... do not make this mistake. It is a shame that the whole place isn't knocked down so the property can be properly utilized.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VKhokhar, General Manager at Bolger Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I regret to hear that your experience and observations did not live up to your expectations. The Bolger Center offers a campus style setting that is ideal for many business and leisure travelers. The property is built on 83 acres of beautiful landscape (recognized with “The Beautification Award" by the Montgomery county), and hosts not only several group meetings, but also many weddings and social events throughout the year. We constantly strive to enhance our product to meet the ever-changing trends and needs of our guests. The property has gone through numerous renovation projects since its opening. We are pleased to announce the recently added feature to our website which allows guests to take a virtual tour of our property. We will continue to add more value to our products and services based on your valuable feedback.
Best regards,
VKhokhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potomac
2.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#5 of 10 in Bethesda
453 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
4.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 10 in Bethesda
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#5 of 14 in Rockville
363 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
4.5 mi away
Hilton Washington DC / Rockville Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolger Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolger Center

Address: 9600 Newbridge Dr, Potomac, MD 20854-4422
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Potomac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potomac
Price Range: $124 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolger Center 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen miles from the White House, the hotel and conference center is close to Reagan National and Dulles International Airports, the exciting nightlife of Bethesda and upscale shopping.The Bolger Center's campus style setting creates an inviting retreat for both the business and leisure traveler. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations for a peaceful and productive stay. The hotel features beautiful garden views, complimentary parking and complimentary WiFi. For your dining pleasure, the Bolger Center offers Osgood's, a buffet style restaurant and for nightly entertainment, the Pony Express Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolger Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolger Hotel Potomac
Bolger Center Potomac
Bolger Center Hotel Potomac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing