We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque water views and large terrapins, turtles, and other wild animals abound” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billy Goat Trail

Billy Goat Trail
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Potomac
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Urbana, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Picturesque water views and large terrapins, turtles, and other wild animals abound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you ever find yourself in the Washington DC area and have an urge to stretch your legs, then I would highly recommend a trip to the Billy Goat Trail. Whether running, biking, or hiking, you can't go wrong. I used to regularly run 8 miles on this trail back in the late 2000's and still rank it highly on my favoured, local scenic runs. Calm and wild water views, large turtles, and other wild animals abound! Comfortable and flat as a pancake terrain. Get yer boots on!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaunj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    31
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I live across the street from the trail which is on the Potomac River. I go there very often as part of my exercise routine. It is a place for tranquility and place away from it all. The Potomac River is a wonder place to vacation even if only two minutes away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alfred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Billy Goat Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lots of fun for avid walkers and hikers rewarded by a beautiful views of Great Falls of the Potomac River. Avoid if you have balance issues or issues walking on uneven surfaces and rocks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveler506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great in dry weather and with good fitness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Have done the trail twice. Both were on great fall days. It could be dangerous if it was damp or wet. Pretty easy to follow. You hike to it from Great Falls where it costs $5 to park. It takes a couple of hours at least.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maggieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We did the Billy Goat Trail A on a Monday- my kids were off school for a teacher workday. The trail was uncrowded and we only saw a few people. My kids loved it! The 6 year old had no problem scaling rocks and climbing trees. My 11 and 12 year olds declared it the best hike ever. I'm definitely sore and got a great workout. The wall that you climb is pretty easy. There were other places in the trail that were more challenging. Pretty sure any other hike will disappoint. We did trail c in late June. It was more preschool age friendly. Some rock climbing but nothing compared to A!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Goat Trail also viewed

 

Been to Billy Goat Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing