We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't we get a good deli in Potomac?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooklyn Deli

Brooklyn Deli
Ranked #31 of 54 Restaurants in Potomac
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very good meats and other foods appear to be prepared fresh with less sodium that expected in a delicatessen. Prices were in the medium rangerange ($11.00 for a corn beef sandwixh
2 reviews
“Can't we get a good deli in Potomac?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had high hopes for this deli when it first opened but it's been a huge disappointment. The food is mediocre, yes, but worse is the unprofessional, aggressive and hostile attitude of the staff, especially those behind the counter. I've watched everything from cat calls to women to abusive talk to customers. Maybe they're patterning themselves on some New York deli staff who use this shtick on tourists, but it doesn't play well here. So I'm still waiting for real New York deli quality, choice and service. This place ain't it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethanyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    12
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awful value, food mediocre at best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Gave this place several shots, hoping for the proverbial good Deli in DC area.
Small portions. High prices. Stale meats. No pickles on table. No chips with sandwiches. UGH!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank steven k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Can't go wrong with Brooklyn Deli, Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. Fairly standard deli fare for all meals. eggs, French toast, pancakes, and smoked fish are all excellent. Egg white omelette with red sauce probably my favorite but a lot of very close seconds. Lunch equally good. Very high quality meets are used. Matzah ball soup with a hot pastrami sandwich maybe a heart attack waiting too happen but it is better to go with a smile on your face. Dinner is very typical with mostly comfort foods. Brisket and crab cakes are excellent 1st selections, and of course start with the matzah ball soup. Have never had room for desert. Wait staff is nice and very attentive. The atmosphere is very pleasent can get a little loud, but it is a delli after all. There is outdoor seating for those who like to look over the parking lot.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Deli Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

If you're looking for a NY style deli - give this a try. Come hungry because sandwiches are big (you can also order a "wimpy" size which has a half portion of meat). Chicken soup is very good as are is the corned beef (reubens are good but can be a bit greasy). Try the Doris if you like brisket

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bkirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I have been to this deli before and keep coming back because of the overstuffed sandwiches. We have tried several and they all have been equally good. The servers are good, not as abrupt as you would find in Brooklyn, but good.

A GREAT FING at this deli is the chocolate topped cookies. You can’t find these just anywhere, and these are great.

We will be back again and again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Deli also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing