We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best of the best!”

Old South Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Port Deposit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
206 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Still the best of the best!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Still the greatest BBQ joint! We traveled all winter thoughout the southeast and tried several smokehouses and BBQ places. Once we got home we have gone to OSS several times and still can say that this is the best place for ribs, burgers, chicken and brisket. Now we can honestly say that the BBQ is the best in we have found in VA, NC, SC, GA, FL, MS, Al and LA. If you are in the area, stop in for great BBQ. It gets really busy later so get there early!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2RVers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    44
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cecil County, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cecil Cty Supper Club "June" Visit”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

While driving down Rt276 in Port Deposit, you'll pass by the Old South Smokehouse Restaurant. At first sight you may say, "what a dump" - I think we'll pass this by. However, you'll be making a BIG mistake. With its ornamental pig hanging from the front porch and somewhat scary appearance - it by far has the best vittles known to mankind in this area, if you like BBQ and the like. The usual dress code is jeans and a t-shirt. Don't expect to impress your date at this stop. Nonetheless, the Cecil County Supper Club routinely visits this location when we're bored of the same ole same ole fanfare with pretty napkins and the usual elegant surroundings. The food is by far outstanding and the staff is down home friendly. They have weekly specials (i.e. full slab rib platter = $9.95 or half price burgers that are the best we ever tasted) that crowd the parking lot with no room to spare. Try it once and you'll always return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCJCGAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Awesome! Excellent food and great service! Portions are large and the price is adequate. First time here and will definitely be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcullum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste of the South just south of the Mason Dixon”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on the way home from setting up a trail event. The food was awesome. I had the triple play to try the pork, brisket and ribs. Would like to try the st louis ribs mext time. Service and atmosphere are ok. Will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillettejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Serve yourself because there's no service at this place.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

When we wanted separate checks, the service was rude and didnt want to accommodate us, even though we asked at the beginning of the dining experience. The service also did not check on us throughout our dining experience. The only way to receive service was to refill our drinks ourselves. In regards to food, they must have gone to kill it to bring it back and serve us because it was over an hour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starvinmarvin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Patrick2000, Manager at Old South Smokehouse, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank for your candid comments regarding our restaurant. We always try to provide all our customers with the best service possible, and you have our apologies that the service you received was not up to that standard. The issues you raised have been addressed with the staff and will be corrected in the future. We take our service to our customers very seriously and we will use your comments as a way to improve.

Thank you,
Management
Old South Smokehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old South Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Old South Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing