We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bassett's Fine Food & Spirits

Bassett's Fine Food & Spirits
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

You definately know you're in Poolesville... We dined outside in the enclosed patio and enjoyed watching the pick-up trucks and tricked out cars go by. The tables are roomie and comforable. There is no pretense at Bassett's; the service is folksie and pretty quick, but there were some minor miscues: incorrect drink order, we never got bread, etc.
The fried chicken was great - worth the couple extra minute wait. The crab dip was tastey, but not amazing. I had a really nice steak salad and my wife really enjoyed the fish of the day.
It was a bit pricier than we thought it would be and I was suprised that they tagged on a gratuity to our party of five's check...
The interior seemed a bit dark, but it looked comfortable. The bar had a nice little crowd in it for a Tuesday evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poolesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stopped in for beverages and snacks. Friendly staff and quick service. They have a nice variety on there menu.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickerson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Only Game In Town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

and it shows... Drive by and you will see a packed restaurant and bar, but if you go inside to eat you will find a boring plain menu of dishes poorly done. I have eaten there many times over the 8 years we have lived here and never had a "good" meal. Dry burgers, limp fries, pasty soups, some of the worst service ever. One time we sat there for 25 minutes after being seated by the hostess and NOBODY came to our table. This was just after Lunch hour and the place was not crowded. We just got up and left. My advice is go down-county or across the Potomac River to Leesburg if you are looking for a nice meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were visiting a lock house along to Potomac and just searched for a nearby restaurant. What a great find. The restaurant is very cute, decorated with animals pictures and very nice Christmas decorations. We were seated promptly by a smiling hostess. They gave our kids paper and crayons and a nice kid's menu. My husband had fried chicken and mashed potatoes and devoured it. I had the crab cakes, zucchini and rice. Fabulous! We were so full and very happy. Too bad it is an hour drive from our house, but I could be talked into making the drive just to have this nice home made meal again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scuneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“a toweys thoughts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

i live near this place and this is good food it take awhile to me but you know its right of the stove the food s a lit bit price but what isn't these days

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bassett's Fine Food & Spirits also viewed

 
Poolesville, MD
 
Poolesville, MD
 

Been to Bassett's Fine Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing