We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken aback”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pocomoke City
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Taken aback”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Had an usually hard time finding a place to stay in the area trying to visit my mother, as it appears some sort of fireman's event/convention was in town. We picked the EconoLodge as it was truly one of the only available that weekend without having to drive out to Chincoteague. Lovely and friendly staff, however our room was more than a little outdated - it was seriously off-putting. The windowsill was so rotted at the bottom out we worried the window might fall in. The a/c stunk heavily of mold/mildew and never cleared. The sheets were dingy and didn't smell particularly fresh. The furniture was very outdated but I would have been fine with that if I felt it was clean, but I didn't. Pulling out the nightstand to try to get to an outlet to charge my phone found a pile of hair/dirt/ashes that gave me the heebies. From some of the other reviews it sounds as if they're working on rehab'ing the rooms but they clearly hadn't gotten to ours yet. Even for the very low price, I was uncomfortable and had a very restless night. I'm afraid I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    26
    23
    35
See reviews for
56
35
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Vijay is so friendly and engaging that this hotel really distinguishes itself from most hotels in this price range. The accommodations are spacious, there is a pool, the rooms are set back away from the road so it is quiet, and the beds are soft. Also, the internet is WAY better than most hotels in both speed and reliability. All of those details are really secondary to how exceptionally friendly and considerate the proprietors are; because, at the end of the day, it's nice to be welcomed in and not just rung up and handed a key.

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My border collie and I like to travel together. I wanted to explore the lower eastern shore area and spent a weekend doing it. I'd planned to stay at a B&B that accepts dogs then decided to save more than half the money and stay in a dog friendly motel. EconoLodge, and it's owner, Vijay, were very pleasant. The owner and his wife take pride in this place and do all they can to make it comfortable. Another person rating this motel said there were roaches -- none in my room, and there was no trash piled up outside as another reviewer said. The place is as clean as any chain I've stayed in, and they allowed my dog to stay too! Most dog-friendly motels (like Motel 6) stink. This one doesn't. I had a very pleasant experience. I will recommend, though, that you should get to the breakfast early if you want coffee. Some other patrons drank it all before I got there, so I had to (gladly) settle for juice, waffles, and pastries. I'll be back, and so will my dog, Skye. P.S. The complementary shampoo, or was it the soft water, really did wonders for my hair!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The beds were comfortable, the room clean, good lineup on TV, free breakfast. The husband and wife managers were extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Let me preface this review by saying I spend about 150 nights a year in hotel rooms while traveling on business....everything from Hyatts to budget hotels and I was very pleasantly surprised with this Econo Lodge. I had a later than typical check in, around 10pm. The manager (probably owner too) checked me in and even walked me to my room to make sure I could find it OK. He had turned on the heat in the room prior to my arrival so it was nice and warm. This is a single story, motor court type layout with parking in front of the rooms. My room was clean and comfortable and looked like it was a little larger than most of the other rooms. Micro/fridge, iron/ironing board, great Wi-Fi for the internet. This room had a whirlpool in the tub, didn't use the whirlpool so can't comment on it. Large walk-in closet area that also had a second lavatory in it. Everything was very clean. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Heat worked well and wasn't noisy.
Desk with rolling chair, decent lineup on the tv channels. Cont breakfast with waffles, bagels, toast, pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee/juice/milk. Assorted jellies,peanut butter and cream cheese. Nice breakfast room. Overall this was an excellent stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I was impressed with the owner and staff; I've found that in so many of these budget hotels the owner is only interested in getting your money and nothing else. Different here, this owner was obviously committed to making sure his guests had a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stopped here to stay one night on our way to the Outer Banks. The room was fairly clean but there were four or five flies buzzing around. Pool was not open. The photos on the website were not as accurate as they could have been. Breakfast was waffles (one choice), I was hoping they had some fresh fruit. Desk staff was very pleasant and let me borrow a cable to access the internet. (No Wireless)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel12186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for about six hours one night while we were traveling. It wasn't our first choice, but we took what we could get. It was right off Route 13, which was nice (what wasn't nice was that it was right off Route 13 - so we could hear traffic all night).

The place has been completely renovated in the past few months when they switched from Quality Inn to Econo Lodge. The woman at the front desk was extremely pleasant. We were able to park our car right outside our room, which made us feel safer.

The room was fine - the bed was clean, the carpet clean and the bathroom fairly clean. Our toilet wouldn't flush when we got in the room and the front desk came right over and fixed it. We did find out later when we tried to schedule a wake up call that the phone in our room didn't work, but that wasn't a huge deal since we had cell phones/BlackBerry's. The shower was hot in the morning; however, the towels were paper thin. The bed was comfortable though and I felt safe in the room. It wasn't luxury, far from it, but it was basic and not as horrible as I expected.

We didn't have the free breakfast they offer because we left around 5am. We didn't see the place in daylight at all (dark when we arrived, dark when we left)... maybe that's not a bad thing :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffy0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocomoke City
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
11.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
287 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#19 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
457 reviews
11.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 825 Ocean Hwy, Pocomoke City, MD 21851-3011 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Pocomoke City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pocomoke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge hotel is ideally located on Route 13, just two miles from the Virginia state line, in one of the "Friendliest Towns on the Lower Eastern Shore." This Pocomoke City, MD hotel is just minutes from Pocomoke River State Park, the Oyster and Maritime Museum, the Arthur W. Perdue Stadium and the University of Maryland Eastern Shore. Visitors will enjoy a variety of nearby outdoor recreational activities, including golfing, tennis, boating, fishing, hunting, swimming and hiking. Guided NASA tours, Tangier Island cruises, Chincoteague Island, the Assateague Island National Seashore and many old home tours are also nearby. Cocktail lounges and specialty shops are located in the surrounding area, and family dining is nearby at Don's Seafood Restaurant, the Upper Deck Restaurant and Bonanza Steakhouse. Hotel features and amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms •Free continental breakfast •Free local calls •Pet-friendly hotel Guests of this Pocomoke City, MD hotel will enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate access to fax services and competitive corporate rates. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with free HBO. In addition to standard amenities, some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Whether traveling to the Lower Eastern Shore area for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge hotel in Pocomoke City, Maryland offers exceptional service and affordable accommodations. Our friendly staff looks forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocomoke City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing