We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa(New Milton)
$621
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe(Highcliffe)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Bute Hotel(Christchurch)
$155
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms(Christchurch)
$115
$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Moorhill House Hotel(Burley)(Great Value!)
    $173
    $167
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
    $334
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (390)
    Filter reviews
    390 results
    Traveler rating
    216
    99
    35
    20
    20
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    216
    99
    35
    20
    20
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewseast closenew forestfull englishtoaststaff were very friendlywedding venueevening mealmain roadroad noisebride and groombar areasteakwhole experiencewedding packagefrom start to finishmain courseattention to detail
    Filter
    Updating list...
    305 - 310 of 390 reviews
    Reviewed October 9, 2013

    We were absolutely let down by this hotel, and so much so, we cut short our two night break. Before we used our 'voucher' we called the hotel to check when they had a room available in the quieter part of the hotel. This is important to us, as my partner is diabetic and so needs to be able to rest, I myself have been recovering from an illness, and so this was explained to them. We chose our dates to stay based on the information given to us, and were assured of a quiet room. We were given room 16, and its right on the road side. The noise was unbelievable, and continued all night, lorries, cars, vans all night. We couldn't open the window to get air in, and the room was incredibly hot, so we really suffered. We had called reception immediately upon arrival, but were told that priority had to be given to those paying the full fee. This certainly endorsed the feeling of 'deal/voucher' customers being treated differently to others, and this, is simply wrong.

    WE ate in the restaurant, and had to send a plate back, as it was inedible. It was just all wrong. We couldn't stay the second night and left early. This ruined my birthday present to my partner.

    Such a shame, and very upsetting. The hotel were aware of our grievances, so this rating should not be a surprise to them

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank squirrel2507
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

    You stayed with us on a wowcher deal, which included a standard room, we always upgrade our guests if availability allows but we were full when you stayed and it was not possible, this was also explained to you when you booked.
    As you suggest my staff do remember you because you told them that if you did not receive an upgrade you would write a bad review, which you have.
    I also see you have set this account up specifically to conclude your threat. Trip advisor is not a tool you can use to threaten hotels.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 4, 2013

    We stayed for two nights at the end of a trip along the Dorset coastline and the best was saved for last. Our room was huge and had a lovely décor and outlook. The bathroom was very large too, with a big bath and a superb shower. Breakfasts were freshly cooked each day and were delicious. We also ate dinner both nights we stayed and each time the food was just superb. We chose from their excellent value 'two for one' menu and there was lots of choice. You could basically have a three course meal for two people for less than £30! If the Chicken, Ham & Leek pie is available, have it!!!
    The staff were also lovely and very attentive and always had a smile on their faces.
    The hotel is somewhat isolated on a long road at the edge of the New Forest, but this adds to the charm if anything and Christchurch is easily reached by car, as well as some other lovely places.
    Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely go back in the future.

    Room Tip: We had room No 1 - it is huge and very well appointed. Nice location too
    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Denzilslorry
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

    Thank you, its a pleasure to look after you and also to see you returning

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 29, 2013

    Would just like to thank all the staff at east close hotel, you were truly amazing, our friends and family have not stopped talking about our wedding, you would never believe we was on a tight budget, thanks for the impeccable service the amazing staff, the beautiful venue, we had the best day of our lives and so did our family. We look forward to coming back xxx

    • Stayed: September 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank joanddarrendesroche
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

    Thank you, it was a pleasure looking after you and we are pleased to read what a great day you had.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 19, 2013

    We stayed in the Eastclose a few weeks ago when the weather was really good.On check-in we found the staff friendly and helpful and the hotel restaurant very busy for lunch which was a good sign for us.We were on a 2 night with dinner deal,and when we went for dinner we were very happy to find there was no "special" menu for people on a deal as found in many other "deal"hotels we visited.We could choose ANYTHING from the menu which was refreshing to say the least.The food was delicious, freshly and properly cooked to our liking and the wine prices were very reasonable,so no hiking up the drink prices either as we have seen on many other "deals"...The breakfast menu was varied and we had the full English which was just too much to finish,and judging by taste,sourced from local products...very tasty.We had a very small dog with us,so,although they use certain rooms for dog owners,the room was spotless and there are lovely grounds and walks at the back of the hotel which we enjoyed using.The staff liked our little dog too! While we were there we visited nearby Christchurch,a quaint English town,and also went to Durdle Door which is about 45 mins away,but well worth the drive.Its on the beautiful Jurassic coast and a must see.The New Forest is also nearby with wild New Forest ponies that are quite happy to come to you(don't feed them or touch them) To conclude: The Eastclose was one of the better places that we stayed in on a deal,and although small,was very welcoming,food and service was superb and the hotel is very well maintained and clean considering its an old Inn.
    Oh! I almost forgot,they have a daily 2 for 1 dinner menu that is very nice too,but book if you can,as it seems to be very well like by the locals...always a good sign.We would not hesitate to return there and many thanks to the helpful staff who made our stay memorable.

    Room Tip: rooms on the road can be a little noisy with the windows open
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Belgravia P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

    Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 14, 2013

    Stayed here for two nights. The hotel has been newly refurbished; we had a large bedroom with a great en-suite; very good food and friendly staff. Would recommend to anyone needing a New Forest hotel.

    Room Tip: We had room overlooking garden.
    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank P_V2189423
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

    Thank you for your review and I hope we have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews