We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food;bad noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good points-excellent restaurant well priced with a very good 2 for 1 offer.Friendly staff throughout restaurant and hotel. Woucher offer meant very good value for our stay.
Large modernised bathroom with walk in shower (room 3) with well appointed fittings and toiletries could not be faulted.
Bad points: room facing road; incessant noise through single glaze windows.Unable to open windows in room--painted over--and it was HOT!! Had to leave door open to bathroom for any air.
Cobwebs in inside of window ; could be a tad cleaner and bed very uncomfortable-felt every spring!!
Lovely touches though-bottled water and biscuits every day.Such a contrast between superb bathroom and dated bedroom.
Patio area tables left unclean ;not wiped over.
Some comments may seem harsh but there is so much going for this restaurant/hotel that a few finishing touches and TLC could not put right.I would certainly stop again but in a garden facing room.Extra thanks to Chris for going that extra mile on helpfulness and service.

Room Tip: Garden facing ;Too much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Sorry you had some niggles, it is hot at the moment, probably doesn't help that we aren't built for it.
Mattress already changed, thanks for letting us know.
Sorry about the traffic noise, surely it would have made matters worse with the window open! Sadly theres not much we can do being a listed building! If you do return as you suggest we cant do too much about the road Im afraid and it does appear to have caused some level of annoyance.
Thank you for all your positives, hopefully will do better than 60% next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 378 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Clean, welcoming hotel. Clean throughout in bedroom and public areas, though doors to toilets in restaurant a little low for some, I'm over six foot and banged my head...careless. Gardens a joy and the setting would be excellent for weddings having the facility to leave the marque or function room for a stroll. Great tasting breakfast, limited selection, but don't be afraid to ask for variations. Full English available so why the need for alternative!?!
Set out of Christchurch but great location for touring around the New Forest, no problems parking.
Had a wonderful evening meal in the Conqueror restaurant. Sea bass with crayfish tails was very tasty. Good selection of starters and desserts also, could have chosen many! Currently have 2 for 1 evening meals or a la carte, both with great selections.
Our only negative comment, for some, not us, would be the traffic noise from having window open.... well it was hottest week of the year!
Yes, the beds are hard!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you, Sorry about your head and also for the traffic noise. Its amazing, we seem to have got it all right for you except that which is outside of our control. Who ever decided to build such a beautiful building next to a main road! it must have been the same person who built Windsor Castle on the Heathrow flight path! Thank you for not rating us badly because of the road and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our wedding 27th june 2013....We booked our wedding at eastclose last march,i only viewed 2 other venues,and eastclose was the last one i viewed...we were very shocked middle of last year to hear that eastclose was going into liquidisation,i called imediatley and it was only rumours they had only changed hands,so that was a big relief... i was totally blown away as soon as i walked in,the decor and attention to detail was AMAZING!!I fell in love with every part of the house,bedrooms,gallery room,garden room it was all very exquistite...We had our ceremony in the gallery room it was truly stunning,our wedding breakfast in the marquee which was beautiful,from the moment we arrived the staff couldnt do enough for me and my bridesmaids,nicky (wedding planner) was absolutley amazing tending to our every needs on the morning of the wedding and making sure everything ran smoothly and to plan and nicola couldnt help enough and always with a smile.All the staff were very polite and friendly which made all our guests feel at home and relaxed,the food was by far outstanding,guests complimenting on each course even down to the coffee and fudge!!(lovely touch)...they even let me bring pizza for my husband as he is very picky with his food,so they put that in the oven for him when the evening buffet was brought out...The views are beautifull from the garden.The boutique style bedrooms were absolutley stunning,every one! I had some amazing pictures taken in the bridal suit which i will be sending to you all when i recieve them!I cant thank you all enough for making my wedding day so special and memorable...thank you nicky,ian and nicola you are very special people and made my wedding day Fabulous in every way!

lots of love lucy and jamie gleeson
xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you, we do our best! Attention to detail and good event planning and management all go along way to achieving our goals. We clearly got it right for you and it was a pleasure to look after you. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to attend my brother's wedding at the East Close on 29th June 2013 ! The whole day was brilliant! The staff at the hotel were very approachable, Tim and his team looked after us all day! I would not hesitate to recommend the venue for anything but especially a wedding! The setting was just perfect for everyone, all ages ! We spent the night too and the room definitely didn't disappoint nor did the breakfast ! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK GUYS !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you, it was a pleasure looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the east close.Right from the start we were made welcome.very friendly staff.Great hotel the room was great very clean.The breakfast was huge and very tasty.We did eat in the conquour and glad we did the food was amazing what a good chef this hotel must have.There was only one thing i would try to improve and that was our bed room 8 it was really hard .Thanks again we will return.ALISON and Richie. Newcastle

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you, I am sorry you found the bed too firm, it is difficult to satisfy everybody in this respect, they are renewed regularly and we only purchase the best quality. I was a little disappointed you only scored us 80% for location, we are where we are, 3 miles from the nearest beach and in the New Forest. We are not a city centre hotel which may have a point of criticism in terms of location. I sincerely hope you might reconsider this score as it reduces our rating and ranking considerably and has no relevance without some level of explanation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely hotel. Everything was so lovely it was a perfect place to chill out and relax.

We had a lovely room overlooking the gardens at the back - perfect.

The staff are polite friendly and attentive.
Food was good and reasonably priced
Well worth a visit.

We will go back .

Syd and Maddie B Devon

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you, your review is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay here and I couldn't wait to write my review of this gorgeous little gem nestled In the New forest.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the manager who checked us in promptly and showed us to our room. We stayed in room 7 which was absolutely gorgeous with opulent chandelier, shabby chic furnishings and big comfy bed. The hotel itself is beautiful comprising the old with the new in a fabulous way. We were booked in for dinner at 7.30 so had time to explore the huge grounds and little nooks and crannys, not one part of this place has been left without some kind of warm homely personal touch which made me feel welcome and at home instantly. We had a two course dinner which was served fresh, hot and very yummy!! I recommend the crayfish and crab salad starter an the cornfield chicken and chorizo main which was immense!! The staff were very attentive to all that we needed. We will definitely come back for a couple if nights next time. We'd love to thank all the staff at the hotel for their wonderful hospitality especially Chris and Iman and a manager from Wolverhampton (we didn't catch his name!) but thanks guys!!! Top class, will be recommending you to all our friends and family! Xx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_welton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton
5.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
525 reviews
5.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
7.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
11.0 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
593 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastclose Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastclose Country House Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road | Christchurch, Hinton, New Forest National Park Hampshire BH23 7EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Hinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: $62 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastclose Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastclose Country House Hotel and The Conqueror Inn are one of the New Forest's hidden delights. Blending Georgian opulence with a cool, contemporary twist. Not simply a comfortable, welcoming place to stay, we are a destination for discerning diners and a unique venue for weddings, special celebrations. Set in 18 acres of beautiful parkland, this boutique hotel has long provided a place of relaxation and inspiration for guests. In fact one of them, author Lewis Carroll, is rumored to have created his tales of a certain young Alice after hearing of her adventures in the enchanting walled garden, croquet lawn and under the giant beech tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eastclose Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing