We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Island Inn & Suites is located on a piece of land that just fits on a piece of land between the Potomac and St. George's Creek. They offer your choice of a sunset room (Potomac) or a sunrise (St. George's Creek) room. We opted for the sunset standard room. The room was huge! The ceilings are high, everything was fairly new, and there was even a kitchenette in our room. You walk into the room and the first thing you see is the gorgeous water view from the balcony. On the balcony, there are two Adirondack chairs and a table.

I was able to get a reservation just a few days before Memorial Day weekend, so I was thrilled. After making my reservation online, I called to request a sunset room. The lady was super accommodating, which surprised me having been in DC so long.

We rented a complimentary canoe for two hours. We just had to sign a waiver and carry it down there ourselves. We had thought there would be two kayaks from the description, but the canoe worked just fine. The site also lists bikes,. There were only two bikes, though, and a few times, they weren't there. Out back, there's a public fishing pier with a cleaning station, a bonfire pit, and a grill.

Immediately next door, there's a great microbrewery and seafood restaurant - The Ruddy Duck. I believe they are only open for dinner. The hotel offers breakfast, and I had read a few reviews before going. A few people complained about the lack of food, but it seems they've recently added a waffle maker. In addition to that, there's yogurt, juices, packaged muffins and bagels, milk, and cereal cups. They have coffee available all day.

We just had one minor hiccup. There were a few ants in our bathroom, but we called the front desk, and she immediately came up to take care of the problem.

The staff was all very friendly. Being a place with less than 30 rooms, they get to know you.

Overall, it was a good stay. There isn't a ton to do in the area, but if you're looking to just relax and be by the water, this is a great place. We ended up spending the second day of our vacation at Point Lookout State Park (a 30 minute drive).

Room Tip: Pick a sunrise (St. George's Creek) or sunset view room (Potomac).
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueEyedDutchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Island Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed at the Island Inn and Suites many times over the last four years. The location is really unique and nice with waterfront on both sides. It is a real gem. However, the level of customer service is outstanding and other hotesl should take a page out of their playbook. They are cpongenial, accommodating and outgoing to ensure you are treated fairly and properly. Their hospitality is refreshing and I was traveling with several people and the staff led by Kim was incredible! Hats off to Kyle, Jonathon, Taylor, Amy and Chardell for taking very good care of my family. Much appreciated!!

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor (3rd on the creekside).
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank randy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Overall this was a nice, quiet, and relaxing getaway. Check in was easy. They do not accept cash so make sure yo take a credit card. Our room was on the 3rd floor, a one bedroom suite. Great view of the Chesapeake Bay. Very clean and smelled fresh. Carpet has seen better days. Refrigerator, microwave, sink in a kitchenette. Continental breakfast in morning. Covered parking. Restaurant next door was very good. It gets really crowded so you should plan accordingly. It is very remote and you need to drive a big to get anything to eat. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browntowne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

nice place to stay. Beautiful location, loved being by the water. Not much around the imediate area but great place for a get away. Next visit will be in the summer time when it is warmer out. Enjoyed my mimi vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This facility is in a prime location with killer views of the Chesapeake bay. The rooms are huge and the balcony allows you take in the full view of the bay. Ample parking and great customer service right from the manager Kyle to all the others. I forgot my jacket there and they were happy to mail it to me. If you are in Piney Point for the Lower potomac marathon, this is your best option.

The only issue that I had with this hotel was the fact that there is not door chain or anything of that sort. My 13 month son was able to open the door and walk out!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulphide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel when I ran the Piney Point Marathon. The location was perfect...only 1 mile form the start and finish. The hotel is on a very narrow piece of land with water on both sides. The views from all the rooms are fantastic. The hotel is somewhat isolated, but fortunately there is a GREAT restaurant, The Ruddy Duck, next door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alb2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for the Lower Potomac River Marathon - so unfortunately didn't get much time to explore the area - but the hotel was great. Literally right on the water with amazing views. Would definitely return to both this part of Maryland and this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piney Point
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn and Suites

Address: 16810 Piney Point Road, Piney Point, MD
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Piney Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Price Range: $104 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Island Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Piney Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing