We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Pikesville
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I reserved online, then called the hotel to ensure that I was getting a king sized bed on the first floor as requested. I was told that there were no king rooms available on the first floor (I had had knee surgery and could not climb the steps at home, so came to a hotel with first floor rooms). There isn't an elevator. Once I explained that I could not climb stairs I was told that there was one room on the first floor, and that it was handicapped accessible.
The room was excessively hot. The furniture was run down, and there was a burn hole in the bed spread. The bed spread smelled like it had not been laundered for quite some time. The bathroom was clean, with the exception of the shower stall and fold down chair in the stall. (The chair is for someone who needs to transfer from a wheelchair to the shower.) The shower stall and chair needed a good scrubbing! I also found several pieces of what appeared to be pet food on the floor. I'm guessing someone snuck a pet into the room at one point.
I called the front desk to explain that I was not happy with the room, and was told I'd get a call back in five minutes. I waited ten minutes, and called the front desk back. I was told that there were no other rooms with king sized beds available. I would not take no for an answer, and a room suddenly became available,
The only complaints I have about the second room is that there were burn holes in the sheets and blanket, and the furniture was a bit run down.

Room Tip: If you reserve online call the hotel to make sure you are going to get what you reserved. I had frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 463 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Time to upgrade rooms.. At this time you can get a 12 noon checkout nicer upgrades for about the same price or better.. There was an issue about having a microwave and refrigerator in the room and I would have to pay an additional fee or if another guess requested the staff could come and remove them... I stated I would not appreciate being disturbed and come get it as I checked in... It was decided that if they did not come get it by 7 pm it would be no charge... Also smelled as if someone showered within minutes before I checked in

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank TashaWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ELLA C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank SEAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel itself was pretty good and most of the staff were friendly. I say most as the man who ran breakfast was very abrupt and very strange. Nobody seemed to rush which is a good thing but sometimes if you are in a hurry rushing is required or at least an acknowledgement.the rooms were clean and there was only one incident where the police had to come in and speak to someone. The location makes it easy to get to the metro either by walking 10 minutes or taking a bus. If you eat out jn the area take a left out the front of the hotel and about half a mile down the road on your left, behind some trees, is the very well priced and delicious Jilly's bar and grill!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank PAUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MiaH1489
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore North -...
#2 of 2 in Lutherville Timonium
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Pikesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Pikesville

Address: 407 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville, MD 21208-5353 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Pikesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Price Range: $57 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Pikesville 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Pikesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Pikesville Hotel Pikesville
Pikesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing