We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expected Doubletree standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This roadside Motor Inn is convenient to my business associates and 15 minutes to BMI Airport. Friendly, accommodating staff. Good,warm cookie. Noisy hallway. Feels like a Holiday Inn. Helpful management.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Harvey M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholliday1130, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your input regarding your stay with us here at the Doubletree in Pikesville, MD. It is true that we are conveniently located right off of the highway which makes for a fairly easy commute to both Baltimore as well as BWI while staying away from the City or the Hotel Districts of BWI. This enables us to create more of an at home atmosphere. I am also happy to hear that our staff treated you well during your stay. We hold all of our staff to high standards as far as the quality of service which is provided as a Hilton hotel. I will certainly pass on the compliments to our staff as it’s always nice to see their hard work is appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t seem to have a good night here as far as the noise. Unfortunately, as the highway being so close is convenient it can also be the cause of some noise from traffic. We do however, have rooms on the opposite side of the building which are quieter due to their view being of the courtyard instead. We would be happy to make sure that you are placed in one of these rooms for any of your future stays.

Thank you again and we look forward to being able to accommodate you with your future travel needs.

Casey Holliday
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 722 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The stay at the hotel was great. My moher is 87 years old and the staff really did work hard to accomodate her special needs. Mary Ann at the desk was very helpful and greeted us by name. Although there was not a handicapped accessible room ready, she gave us a 1st floor convenient location to limited long walking distances. The bellhop( I think named Andrew) quickly got us a wheelchair when he noted my mother was slow and needed help to her room. The team provided comfort measures in the bathroom that made moving less cumbersome. Everyone was very senior friendly which is special. Meanwhile the warm cookies were delicious! I have stayed at various Double Trees but the Pikesville Md site had the best service ever. Thanks, M. Oden

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mireevu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholliday1130, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Good Afternoon,

On behalf of the hotel and staff I would like to thank you for your wonderful response during your stay. I believe I was here when you checked in with your mother and the bellman who helped you was Adam. We certainly extend and emphasize to all of our staff the importance of our guests and their comforts. Although an accessible room was not available to you for your stay, we were happy that we were able to still make all the accommodations comfortable for your family during your stay. Please let us know if we can be of any further service to you in the future. We thank you and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Casey Holliday
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great rooms, Beds are to "die for" comfortable, affordable, clean, nice décor, and good service, BUT pass on the restaurant - poor food choice, quality of value charged, too expensive for the quality of the food, could have a "fine dining" restaurant for the prices of these meals. The hotel is right off of one of the major highways so is provides easy assess when traveling. Easy to find. Room service menu offers more selection that the restaurant menu. Room service was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 360meredithl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholliday1130, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to lend us your input regarding your stay. I would like to let you know that in regards to some of the responses of the restaurant, our Chef and Food and Beverage manager have joined together to construct a new menu. The menu has just begun and we are happy to offer some new choices from meals to bar. Everything has been rethought over much time and we hope that everyone will find more enjoyment with these selections.

I am sorry that your dining experience was not to your liking. Again, it is our highest priority that we are able to serve all of our guests from check-in to check-out and in all areas which fall in between. This includes the fitness, internet, pool, service and yes... the food. I would strongly recommend you stop on by to see us again so we can present you with the new menu and hopefully remove the bitter taste and replace it with something refreshing and delicious.

Please let us know if you are ever coming back to the area and we would be happy to accommodate you in every way possible. Thank you again for your response and I hope that we will have the chance to serve you a new experience soon!

Casey Holliday
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff at this hotel was friendly, and parts of the hotel appear to have been recently refurbished. The room was fairly nice for the age of the building, as was the lobby area; the hallways leading away from the main lobby, however, were stuffy and warm. The hallway that our room was on also had a strange smell the entire stay. It's too bad those issues weren't fixed when the hotel was refurbished. There were no AC issues or strange odors in the room, though. This hotel has free wifi, which was nice. They do not have self service coin laundry. Maybe most Doubletrees don't, but other Hilton brand hotels I've been to have had a small laundry room. We did not visit the restaurant or pool, so I can't comment on those amenities.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank slwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholliday1130, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your input regarding your stay with us in July. We have recently renovated in December which took us from just a Hilton hotel to a Doubletree by Hilton. As the change was made we have had to make many changes to many of our features in order to bring ourselves up to the standard which is laid forth as a Hilton hotel. One of the features that we do not offer however is the laundry. Although I agree that laundry is always a good amenity to have, we find that many of our guests would not find the use for it in their short stays or prefer our laundry services. We do have Valet laundry which has been a great amenity for the hotel. They serve same day service for both dry cleaning as well as laundry services. I understand that not everyone may require their socks returned in a neatly folded state in a handy box/bag so we do have Laundromats which are close by and one of which is 24 hours. Our complimentary shuttle will be able to take you there as well as bring you back when you are ready.

As the summer presses into its warmest months our HVAC units are certainly trying their best to keep up with the ever-growing heat. But our engineering staff has begun making regular checks on the units as part of their preventative maintenance. We are an older building which just means that we are aging well and doing everything in our power to keep our well-oiled machine working like it were young again. We may have struggled initially with the heat but as our staff got a better system for preventative maintenance in place we haven’t been having any problems. We are very excited at the work that our engineering staff has been doing this summer. Also, our housekeeping staff has been able to work on the hallways and their stuffiness. It's sometimes difficult with our first floor as most of our guests flock to our large outdoor pool in the summer. A door left open can certainly bring in some of the humidity which we battle with. But we are keeping the air conditioning on and the carpets are being shampooed regularily which has greatly helped out.

Thank you again for you wonderful input and we hope that we will be able to accommodate all your needs in the future!

Casey Holliday
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are not a lot of great places to stay on the west side of Baltimore (county, not the city). This is a winner. Location, if you have to be in this area, is right off the Beltway and Reisterstown Rd. There are restaurants and shopping within walking distance and a short drive. It is not near the airport. This Doubletree has an amazing outdoor pool. The rooms were large, clean, fresh and comfortable. The on sight restaurant had a wonderful selection for breakfast. It also has a huge bar and serves 3 meals. I found the staff friendly and helpful, despite other reviews I read.

Room Tip: SInce this sits right on a highway, ask for a room overlooking the pool. Great view on the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Clean, quiet, friendly and extremely comfortable. Did I mention that it was comfortable??? Because IT WAS!! The restaurant/bar is amazing! Absolutely beautiful with very decent food! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Check-in was tough. One clerk handled one long phone call and ignored check-in. Only other clerk juggled multiple calls and a long line. My room was quiet and clean. Shower was great, and the bathroom amenities were good. Internet was fast and easy to connect.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator, facing the pool provides a nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikesville
3 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/Owings Mills
0.2 mi away
Ramada Pikesville/Baltimore North
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 5 in Owings Mills
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Owings Mills
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Pikesville
Howard Johnson Pikesville
#2 of 4 in Pikesville
470 reviews
8.7 mi away
Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville

Address: 1726 Reisterstown Rd, Pikesville, MD 21208-2974 (Formerly Hilton Pikesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Pikesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Price Range: $114 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville is a full-service hotel north of Baltimore. The hotel features stylish and comfy guest rooms, deluxe amenities such as complimentary WiFi, and event space perfect for weddings or corporate functions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll enjoy all of the perks provided at this hotel in Pikesville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pikesville Hotel Pikesville
Pikesville Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Pikesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing