We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average for Hilton”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Was in town for national USATF track meet. This Hilton is in need of an update. Our room was clean, the beds were small. The rate was better than other hotels in the area; now I know why. I would call this location average at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPikesville, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We wanted to let you know that we agree with you; we could use an update...which is why starting next week, we're starting a renovation! Our front desk will be the first area to be renovated, followed by all other common areas.

Our beds either have standard King beds, or Doubles. These Doubles are a little smaller than Queens, but there's still plenty of space for 2 adults to sleep comfortably on these beds.

I have every confidence that next time you stay with us, you'll feel we're not just "average at best", but instead you'll see us simply as the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    191
    95
    64
    47
See reviews for
214
103
48
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for business this week and the hotel was clean. The beds in the room I had were not the normal size that I am used to for Hilton. They were small. It was fine for one person but if you were to book for more than 2 people it would not work. Overall I would stay here as it is centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timirelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

In the area for lax games. Friendly professional staff. Clean hotel clean comfortable safe rooms. First floor courtyard rooms have additional door leading outside to pool area. Nice restaurant/bar. Across from Target, McDonald's and gas next door. Power went out in hotel during huge east coast storm staff handled it incredibly well no complaints at all there. We did check out and go to a hotel that did have power but otherwise would have stayed and been very happy and comfortable .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Generally this is a nice hotel. I tried to check-in early so I could change to play golf, but they said no rooms were ready; had to change in my car. The room is very nice except for the air-conditioning system. Room was quiet, had a nice desk, plenty of outlets, and the bathroom amenities are very upscale. The air-conditioner not only couldn't keep the room cool enough, but it turned on-and-off constantly. Every time it turned back on, it banged and rattled. I was pretty tired the next morning. I've had a few meetings in the bar/restaurant, and the service is below Denny's level. Ambience is nice, though.

This could be a very good hotel if they could only correct a few things.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailingsusan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a smaller, older Hilton, but still quite nice. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is conveniently located if you are going to the Preakness Stakes. About 25 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor and a couple of hours from Washington DC (due to traffic), it is also very convenient to BWI airport. Bar and dining very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailingsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, va
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We came in town for the Preakness and needed a hotel for Friday night. I was surprised that a Hilton was available so close to the race weekend as I booked this about 7 days out (with points). I read the reviews and based my decision on the positive reviews regarding location and the fact that the rooms had recently been updated. There is good and bad to the hotel. No ugly or at least nothing that I experienced was ugly so I guess that is at least something positive about the property but from a Platinum member who frequents the chain often this definitely is not a top Hilton property.

Location to Pimlico Racecourse was excellent. The front desk staff was friendly as they called us a cab and tagged our bags and hanging clothes and put them in the bell closet since we couldn't check in. When we got back from the races around 6 or so they checked us in quickly and all of our luggage was waiting. Since we are platinum members we have a profile on our account- quite simple...high floor - away from elevator. Well we got the high floor, away from elevator...not so much. 3 rooms down from the elevator which there were 2 and the hotel was busy and of course the noise was loud from the bell to the doors opening and closing.

The room was large ( a good)- but I have to say the updating was not so well done. The Hilton brand beds are so comfortable so when i saw they did upgrade that it was a positive but the dated wallpaper, poor electrical outlets, dark colors and very plain artwork was not so lovely. They also did not work on upgrading the air conditioning system as it was so very noisy and loud every time it kicked on I really wasn't s
ure if that or the elevator noise was worse. Again we didn't spend much time in the room but the view was terrible. Loved looking at the mechanicals on top of the roof in the morning. That was interesting.

The bathroom tile and vanity was nice. The toiletries were fair and it was nice that they did have a hair dryer in the room. The towels were very large and we had plenty of them so that was helpful as well. The hot water was an issue showering in the morning as the pressure was not very strong and it went from hot, to warm to cool back to warm but never back to hot.

The tv and channel selections was great. Lots to choose from so you could always seem to find something late night or first thing in the morning since that was the only time we really used it. I did order breakfast from room service. They were quick to take my order and got it right just not so quick to deliver it. 30 minutes took over 50 but the omelet was still warm and decent. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't say how the restaurant or bar were. But if they do the room service I would imagine that the food would be good b/c breakfast was ok.

All in all I give this property a C. thankfully for us we didn't have to pay for it since we used points. The staff was great as was the location but other than that I would say they really need to step up the decor and the amenities to be a true Hilton

Good luck!

Room Tip: First floor looked dingy- busy and closse to meeting rooms/ball rooms. I wouldn't recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days because it was convenient for visiting family. We had stayed here several years before, and we were delighted to find that the facility had been extensively and tastefully renovated. The cost was very reasonable. The desk staff was extremely efficient, and everything was handled correctly. The only strange thing was the lack of greeting when going by the front desk. It almost seemed as if the staff was trying to avoid eye contact. Nevertheless, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOHCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikesville
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/Owings Mills
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 5 in Owings Mills
398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Owings Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Pikesville/Baltimore North
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Pikesville
Howard Johnson Pikesville
#2 of 4 in Pikesville
447 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore / Woodlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville
Address: 1726 Reisterstown Rd, Pikesville, MD 21208-2974 (Formerly Hilton Pikesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Pikesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville is a full-service hotel north of Baltimore. The hotel features stylish and comfy guest rooms, deluxe amenities such as complimentary WiFi, and event space perfect for weddings or corporate functions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll enjoy all of the perks provided at this hotel in Pikesville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pikesville Hotel Pikesville
Pikesville Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Pikesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing